Subject: Netrunner losing its edginess? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Samuel Hancock
Australia
Newstead
Queensland
flag msg tools
When I started playing android: netrunner with the core set, the android universe played a big part in getting me interested in the game. The core set did a great job of showing a world of duplicitous mega corps who had no problem bending (or breaking) both the law and moral decency in making money.

HB was replacing humans with questionably sentient robots. Jinteki had dark secrets out the wazoo. NBN was always watching and influencing the public. And Weyland were happy to use any method (murder, blackmail, stand over tactics, etc) to get what they wanted.

The runners too had their dark sides. Gabe was more interested in making a buck than saving the world. Noise was cynical and nihilistic. Stimhack showed us that runners too had less than legal methods of achieving their goals. Shaper didn't really have much to say regarding how they fit into the universe, but that was ok.

I think that core set and the first few expansions did a great job of creating a unique cyberpunk world that full of excitement, technological marvels, edge and cynicism. I think its easy to sympathise with the runner when you see how corrupt and morally bankrupt the mega corps are.

But with the announcement of the second data pack in the SanSan, Breaker Bay, we see a very different side to the android universe. Beach parties and game days are all too common in this world. And when I see a world where the average citizen is free to enjoy these events, it makes me wonder if perhaps life for that citizen in the android universe really isn't that bad.