Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ben Waxman

Falcon Heights
Minnesota
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi,

As a miniature painter I'm excited / daunted by the sheer number of figures coming with CW. While I would like to paint them all, this would take months and would lead to games that featured painted vs unpainted factions.

Rather than doing a detailed paint job on all the figs, I'm trying to come up with a solution that allows the faction color to be easily recognizable to facilitate gameplay while enhancing the detailed sculpts.

Here are some thoughts. Would love to hear your suggestions!

Options:

1. Man/Woman up and paint one faction at a time with tabletop quality according to best guess of color from images online. Paint the base in the faction color as its faction identifier.

2. Clean the minis well with warm soapy water, dry well, then apply a thin wash of black or brown ink to the figs to enhance detail and shadow effects. Let dry then seal with a matte spray. This would allow the faction color to come through for easy identification but enhance detail and theme by highlighting the evocative sculpts.

3. Spray EVERY figure with a black primer layer to fill in all the nooks and crannies. Let dry. Then lightly highlight from a high angle with the faction color to catch the raised parts, show detail, and allow easy faction identification.

Please share your ideas. I'm not sure what to do but would like a strong plan before embarking on my quest to pimp out this massive game.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ze Masqued Cucumber
France
flag msg tools
Protze et Chniaque !
badge
C'est le Gomazio à crête mordorée, dont le cri annonce le soir...
mbmbmbmbmb
A quick and dirty method is to basecoat directly with coloured spray, wash, drybrush, and varnish. That requires 4 sprays, 4 washes, 4 paints, 1 matte varnish spray (for the base game of course).
And the soap part is highly recommended, whatever the method.