Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Battlefleet Gothic» Forums » Rules

Subject: Two questions needing final ruling. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
gary rembo
United Kingdom
brighton
Alaska
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi all a couple of questions one is probably obvious.

Firstly does the first player go through all the phases before the next player gets to act or is it kind of I move you move I shoot you shoot etc.?

Second is it right that you can pick the order in which your ships weapons are fired?.
So fire batteries first and then lances so they are capable of passing through blasts with no penalties?.
Also someone mentioned in a video that you can cheat by firing one weapon at the closest ship then fire all the remaining weapons at a further target?.
Doesn't sound right to me.

Sorry one more
How exactly do you place blast markers.i gather you place them on the targets base oriented so they face the attacker.
Do you then place subsequent blasts next to them touching or do you centralise all the markers in the direction if that makes sense?.
Thanks all
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kristofer Nilsson
Sweden
Stenungsund
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
One player goes through all the phases. Then the other. Do note that both sides move their ordnance markers in the ordnance phase however.

Yes, you can pick the order in which your weapons fire. Never heard of it being ok to fire one weapon at the closest target and then the rest at something else. Edit: Ah, didn't think of different arcs.

The way we played it (haven't played in ten years) was that the first one went oriented to firing ship and after that we went around the base and then another layer if needed. Probably does matter that much unless you start to put them in a line to specifically affect other ships I reckon.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Williams
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
BITS FOR THE BITS GOD!
badge
Staring in dumbfounded terror at Frans Raynor's neckbeard.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You may split your fire from a given arc between vessels, but remember that targeting a vessel that is not the closest requires a Leadership Check to be passed.

That "cheat" is also backwards, you'd want to target the farther away vessel first, as the resultant blast markers would be placed on the distant vessel, and then not incur the penalty for firing across blast markers when you target the closer vessel.

Blast Markers that are placed as a result of shields absorbing hits are placed touching the base of the target, facing the firer, at as close an angle as you can manage. Blast Markers cannot overlap.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
gary rembo
United Kingdom
brighton
Alaska
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
THX buddy.
A read a recent FAQ as I'm using the blue book and can't seem to find a pdf of the latest anymore.
I noted tha Noah cannon rules are different and it now says that if a blast marker is next to a base it effects gameplay as if all around the base for the purposes of moving,firing,incoming fire.
Simplifies thing.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Luke Stirling
Norway
Trondheim
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Jokerman wrote:
can't seem to find a pdf of the latest anymore.

All the files pertaining to "Specialist Games" that Games Workshop previously hosted are gone from their site. Given GW's well known predilection for coming down hard on other sites that host their material, regardless of their paid or free status or any other potentially mitigating factors, you generally have to resort to peer to peer distribution mechanisms for the "official" stuff these days.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.