GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
8,741 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
19 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

The Golden Ages» Forums » Rules

Subject: Wonder Hagia Sophia - too strong? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dr Orwi
Austria
flag msg tools
mb
Hi all,
we´ve got a question concerning the wonder "Hagia Sophia":
As soon as you have built the wonder "Hagia Sophia", you will receive 2 additional gold when you found a city for the rest of the game. Is this correct?
If yes, this seems pretty strong for just 6 gold in the 2nd era - too strong for some of us.
What´s your opinion? Any comments/ideas on this topic would be very interesting.
Thank you very much and best regards,
michael
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Luigi Ferrini
Italy
Castagneto Carducci
Livorno
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
drmiwi wrote:
Hi all,
we´ve got a question concerning the wonder "Hagia Sophia":
As soon as you have built the wonder "Hagia Sophia", you will receive 2 additional gold when you found a city for the rest of the game. Is this correct?
If yes, this seems pretty strong for just 6 gold in the 2nd era - too strong for some of us.
What´s your opinion? Any comments/ideas on this topic would be very interesting.
Thank you very much and best regards,
michael


It's strong, but not so much as it seems.
If you get HS as your first action in 2nd era, you may use its power at most 9 times in the rest of the game, if you never use your colonists as builders, artists of for just colonizing islands.
That worths at most 18 gold, minus the cost (6 gold and one action - and an action worths 2 gold for the Golden Age rule) is at most 10 gold net total. Not so much as seems... :-)
12 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dr Orwi
Austria
flag msg tools
mb
Hi Luigi,
thank you very much for your detailed comment - directly from the designer of the game that´s great
And from that point of view you are more than right.
We´ve got an additional question concerning the rules, however:
When founding a city and there are no cubes left in your reserve, can you really take them from "anywhere" on the map - and that way you could retain control of a resource by taking twice one cube of a "two cubes" city and leave the other one? Is this correct?
Thanks for a short reply also on this topic.
Best Regards,
Michael
btw, really great game, Luigi - we had a lot of fun!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Luigi Ferrini
Italy
Castagneto Carducci
Livorno
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
drmiwi wrote:

When founding a city and there are no cubes left in your reserve, can you really take them from "anywhere" on the map - and that way you could retain control of a resource by taking twice one cube of a "two cubes" city and leave the other one? Is this correct?


Yes, it's correct. :-)
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dr Orwi
Austria
flag msg tools
mb
Thank you, Luigi, for your ongoing support! That´s great!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mfl134
United States
Havertown
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
My words literally betray me.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Lupigi wrote:
drmiwi wrote:
Hi all,
we´ve got a question concerning the wonder "Hagia Sophia":
As soon as you have built the wonder "Hagia Sophia", you will receive 2 additional gold when you found a city for the rest of the game. Is this correct?
If yes, this seems pretty strong for just 6 gold in the 2nd era - too strong for some of us.
What´s your opinion? Any comments/ideas on this topic would be very interesting.
Thank you very much and best regards,
michael


It's strong, but not so much as it seems.
If you get HS as your first action in 2nd era, you may use its power at most 9 times in the rest of the game, if you never use your colonists as builders, artists of for just colonizing islands.
That worths at most 18 gold, minus the cost (6 gold and one action - and an action worths 2 gold for the Golden Age rule) is at most 10 gold net total. Not so much as seems... :-)


More than 9 times if you include rocketry and the builder that lets you stand up a colonist.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Luigi Ferrini
Italy
Castagneto Carducci
Livorno
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mfl134 wrote:

More than 9 times if you include rocketry and the builder that lets you stand up a colonist.


You're right. However, all these actions allow you to delay your Golden Age; this effect is valuable in game terms as 2 Gold for the other players (i.e. the effect of being in Golden Age for a turn more), then with Hagia Sophia they are only zero-sum effects.

In addition, taking Hagia Sophia earlier means wasting immediately 6 Gold and have them come back delayed in time. It's like a "banking" effect, you will have a reward in the future, but in the present you suffer a lack of liquidity! :-)
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.