Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Prime Climb» Forums » Rules

Subject: Drawing Prime Cards rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Gillum the Stoor
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules say, "If you ended your Move phase on an entirely red space (i.e., a prime greater than 10), draw a Prime card."

Each player begins the game with two pawns. What happens if they both end the Move phase in a red space? Do you draw two Prime cards?

If you do draw two Prime cards, and they're both Action Cards, can you apply them to the same pawn? If not, must you indicate before you draw which pawn you're drawing for.

Also ...

The examples in the rules clearly allow you to apply both dice to a single pawn. Thus, one pawn might not move during the Move phase.

If you start the Move phase with one pawn on a red space, could you leave it there (apply both dice to the other pawn) and draw a Prime card for the pawn that didn't move? If so, you might be able to do this for a long time.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Karl Hedstrom
United States
California
flag msg tools
The rules seem to indicate that the red card applies to the pawn that landed on it. It does say "if both pawns are on red spaces, you may choose which pawn the card applies to." I would take this to mean that you would draw two cards and you could decide which card went to which pawn. I don't think they would want you to use two Action cards on one pawn, they just give you a choice.

We have played that you would have to move a pawn in order to draw a card, you cannot just leave a pawn on a red prime and draw one each turn. Because the order is Roll, Move, Bump and Draw; so no Move than no Draw.

I think when they do their second printing, they can clear up some of these questions in their rulebook 2.0, maybe even have a FAQ section would be nice.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Finkel
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
In general, you only draw one Prime card per turn. This is true if both pawns land on red spaces, and even if a Prime card sends you to another red space. (For example, if you are on 97 and pick the "reverse the digits in your number" card and go to 79, you don't pick another Prime card.) The only exception is if you pick "Roll Again!", in which case you may pick another Prime card if you land on a red space at the end of that turn.

You can't hunker down on a red space and keep drawing Prime cards. You need to land on a new red space from the one you started the turn on to pick a new card.

Hope this answers your questions!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Finkel
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
By the way, Karl, you're right on your reading here, with the exception that you draw just a single card when both pawns land on red spaces. But if it is an action card, you can apply it to whichever pawn you like.

We're looking at putting an faq in the next rules. In fact, drafting them up right now.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.