Jesse Bouvier
Canada
Montreal
Quebec
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey Folks, here's the situation:

My GF will play and usually enjoy just about anything I like (mostly euros)in a group/family situation. But only occasionally is she up for a 2p game with me. Part of this is because in that one-on-one context, she hates losing (which she does no more than 50% of the time). Her tastes, though, are hard for me to pin down. She hated Tzolk'in (felt it was too opaque I think), didn't especially care for Keyflower (again maybe because the strategy/goals weren't immediately obvious so she felt like she lacked direction for her play), quite liked Castles of Burgundy and her current fave appears to be Trajan. One common thread is that she's not into direct conflict (we don't play to block in TtR for instance). In the past we've enjoyed Jaipur, Carcassonne, and Dominion (until I started playing the latter two online and she felt like she could no longer compete). Anyway, I'm happy playing more Trajan and CoB for now, but I'd like to get something new to keep things fresh for the odd weekend game with my gal. Thoughts?!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nikola
Croatia
Zagreb
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
My GF enjoys a good game of Lewis & Clark. There is no direct conflict and you kinda build your own engine for travelling further down the river, so the goal is definitely there
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
HB BD
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
My husband and I enjoy CoB a lot and we are getting into Trajan. Try looking at Castles of Mad King Ludwig, obvious goals, and since she enjoys Carcassonne, she will likely enjoy the tile laying aspect.

Another one we enjoy is Progress: Evolution of technology. The goals are obvious, and it is fun to build on the tech tree.