David Stoffey
United States
Arlington
Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
To the Mountain!
mbmbmbmbmb
Yesterday my FLGS hosted an excellent escalation tournament. It was your standard 60-90-120-150. A month ago we had a normal tournament and I took first and won an Outrider and this month's prize was the Decimator. Well, I don't have one yet, and I'm a poor college student, so I went in wanting to win. I guess I won't ruin the surprise here and you'll have to read on and see how it went!

60- At the base level I ran Dash Rendar (I had to use my new, shiny Outrider after all...) I had him equipped with a Heavy Laser Cannon with the Outrider title. He also had Push the Limit, Kyle Katarn, and Engine Upgrade.

I flew against a mini-TIE swarm. He ran Howlrunner with Shield Upgrade and Swarm Tactics and three Academy Pilots. For 60 points, this was a very long match, and he flew very well. Additionally, I was rolling terribly and he was rolling phenomenally. After a few turns in I was out of shields and had put two damage on one TIE fighter. Things were looking grim. However, I caught him off guard and flew out into the distance and was able to stay a good bit away for a few turns which gave me the firing power to do some damage to him and finally picked off his last three TIEs. I only had 3 hull remaining at the end of the match, and it was a real nail biter! But the tournament fun had only yet begun...

90- I added Airen Cracken with Squad Leader at this level to give Dash an extra action (like he needed it) and to save points for the next level.