Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

1989: Dawn of Freedom» Forums » Rules

Subject: 5th space of the Tiananmen Square track bonus rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Andreas Jõesaar
Estonia
Tallinn
Harjumaa
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
5th space of the Tiananmen Square track says:

Quote:
Discard non‐scoring card and draw replacement card at start of Turn


Define start of turn. Is it before or after receiving new Strategy Cards?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ioan Mitiu
Romania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
After dealing the cards
costello wrote:

Define start of turn. Is it before or after receiving new Strategy Cards?


After - the card to be replaced will be chosen from the whole, 8-cards, hand.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andreas Jõesaar
Estonia
Tallinn
Harjumaa
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ioan76_TM wrote:
costello wrote:

Define start of turn. Is it before or after receiving new Strategy Cards?


After - the card to be replaced will be chosen from the whole, 8-cards, hand.


Thanks. We thought so and played that way because it seemed logical. Just wanted confirmation.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
EDG
Canada
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
Quote:
Discard non‐scoring card and draw replacement card at start of Turn


We interpreted this a bit differently when it came up for the first time last night - we thought it meant that you can discard the non-scoring card whenever you like, and then draw a replacement for it at the start of the next turn (we didn't realise the "at the start of the Turn" also applied to the "discard non-scoring card" part).

But from what I'm seeing here, you actually do both at the start of the turn, right? So when you're given the new cards for your hand, you can discard one and replace it with another?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Max DuBoff
United States
New Brunswick
New Jersey
flag msg tools
"My name is Ozymandias, king of kings: / Look on my works, ye Mighty, and despair!"
badge
Habeo in animo vivere in perpetuum aut mori dum conor.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
EDG_ wrote:
Quote:
Discard non‐scoring card and draw replacement card at start of Turn


We interpreted this a bit differently when it came up for the first time last night - we thought it meant that you can discard the non-scoring card whenever you like, and then draw a replacement for it at the start of the next turn (we didn't realise the "at the start of the Turn" also applied to the "discard non-scoring card" part).

But from what I'm seeing here, you actually do both at the start of the turn, right? So when you're given the new cards for your hand, you can discard one and replace it with another?


Yes. The start of the turn now goes like this:

1. Deal cards
2. Give opportunity to discard if applicable
3. Redraw to replace discarded card
4. Proceed with action rounds as normal
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.