Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Pax Romana» Forums » Rules

Subject: The Poliorcates Effect rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
William Payne
United States
houston
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
The card says gain 2 shifts. The book says gain 5 bp. The book also says some ramblings about a colossus statue. LOL what gives?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael @mgouker
United States
Pembroke Pines
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's 2 shifts!

Also, it should be Poliorcetes. He besieged Rhodes and later became king of Macedonia.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
William Payne
United States
houston
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
thanx, I figured the 2 shifts was right so I played it that way.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Runs with scissors
United States
Vancouver
Washington
flag msg tools
The die is cast.
badge
You say OCD like it's a bad thing.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That's good clarification. Does this mean that when the card is played, you should play it before either player bids for siege expertise, and then when the siege engine is used it automatically replaces the round of siege expertise bidding?

This is how I'd play it. It doesn't seem to make sense that you could get 2 shifts by getting this, and then either get a third shift or get it reduced to 1 shift by a round of siege expertise bidding.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael @mgouker
United States
Pembroke Pines
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think it is cumulative though. There is still a siege bid.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Runs with scissors
United States
Vancouver
Washington
flag msg tools
The die is cast.
badge
You say OCD like it's a bad thing.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sounds good. The rules do not state anything about it taking the place of the siege bid, so I guess I shouldn't be interpreting what's unsaid, and trying to read something in that isn't there. Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Neil Randall
Canada
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmb
mgringo wrote:
I think it is cumulative though. There is still a siege bid.


Yes, there's still a siege bid.

Neil
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.