Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Ruckus: The Goblin Army Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: A few questions for this awesome, awesome game! rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Justine Sales
msg tools
Hi All,

We've played 3 games so far and we find this game awesome! There were certain points where we needed to stop because of an argument about the rules. We kinda "houseruled" some of them. I hope you guys can help us out.

1.) Victory Cards
- Clarification: When drawn, a victory card counts to the 5 card hand limit, thus limitting you to only 4 goblins in play, correct?

2.) Dagger
- Question:: When Dagger's trick resolves, does it deal damage to everyone on the opponent's front row or does it deal only one point of damage that must be applied to someone on the said row only?

3.) Cleaver/Cleaver's brother:
- Question: If the player triggered these cards' effects without being the top nor second highest damage dealer, does that mean that the trick was wasted? Is there a unique mechanism for them where they go with a "delayed trigger", wherein their skill can be activated now but triggers only when the player is the top or second highest damage dealer?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Lubbers
United States
New York
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Justine, hopefully these clarifications will help to resolve some of those arguments so that only the little green guys are involved in the Ruckus and not you and your friends, laugh

1.Victory Cards
Yes, when drawn, a Victory card counts toward the 5 card hand limit, and may only limit you to 4 units in your initial army set up. When you draw the Victory card into your hand you want to follow the text on the card beginning with "WHEN YOU DRAW THIS CARD:". Certain Victory cards, may just be discarded, others let you draw additional cards to your hand for your army formation, some need to be sidelined, some act as units (G-800). Simply follow the text on the cards for "When YOU WIN THIS CARD:" and for "WHEN YOU DRAW THIS CARD:" and you will be all set.

2.DAGGER
When resolving Dagger's skill, the controlling player would deal 1 point of unblockable damage to each opponent's first row. This 1 point of unblockable damage would be dealt to only one unit in each opponent's first row. Keep in mind, the Clerics and Fighters do have skills that could still block or absorb this into a different row.

3. Cleaver / Cleaver's Brother
You are correct that the player(s) controlling these units do need to deal the highest or second highest amount of damage in order to resolve their skills. Their skills, if activated, would not resolve immediately, but would be resolved during the Resolution Phase. Remember, these units also need to be in the 1st row for their skill to trigger, as they deal melee damage, and their skill text reads "On HIS NEXT ATTACK...". They can't attack if they are not in the 1st row, as melee damage can only be dealt from the 1st row.

However, you can get very sneaky and place a ranged add-on token on either of these units so that they now deal melee and ranged damage. They could then successfully activate, trigger, and resolve their skills from the 2nd or 3rd rows, but again, only if the controlling player(s) are dealing the highest or second highest amount of damage.

I hope this helps. Glad to hear that you are enjoying the game.
2 
 Thumb up
5.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Guigliano
United States
East Syracuse
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Stellar, as always! Quick response, clear and helpful answers...thanks, Michael!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.