GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
10,403 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
14 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

King of Tokyo» Forums » Rules

Subject: Mimic Your Own Mimic? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Shanahan
United States
Quincy
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
To my mind, the answer to this question is a resounding "no," but the unrepentant Rules Twister in our group, in his first game of KoT, bought Mimic and wanted to know if he could Mimic his own Mimic, and thus be able to Mimic two opponent powers instead of one.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Mihalik

Florida
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I would answer no as well. Logically speaking, he would spend a mimic to get a mimic. The first one would be used to get the second and still left with one mimic left.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Nerman
Canada
Winnipeg
Manitoba
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That's idiotic. As soon as he switched the card that the "first" mimic was copying, he would lose the "second" mimic.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Hicks
United States
Evansville
IN
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Pointless
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Nicosia
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
SMASH!!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sure! And why not just use those 2 mimics to mimic themselves also, and get 4! And keep doing it for infinity mimics! Mwa-haaa-haaa-haaaaaa!

/headslap
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gamer Dad
United States
Ballston Spa
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You are correct, you cannot not mimic the mimic…

And to answer everyone else:
Why did the Chicken cross the road?

Spoiler (click to reveal)
Because it was strapped to the back of the monkey.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grarrrg Grarrrgowski
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Goliath463 wrote:
You are correct, you cannot not mimic the mimic…

There is actually nothing preventing you from using Mimic on itself. The text says "Choose a card any monster has in play...". Mimic is a card a monster has in play, therefore it is a valid target.
The problem is that doing so accomplishes nothing (outside of wasting 1 Energy).

What this guy said
BlackMarketBeagle wrote:
Logically speaking, he would spend a mimic to get a mimic. The first one would be used to get the second and still left with one mimic left.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.