Alastair Cornish
United Kingdom
Bromley
Kent
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Or is the limit of one card per combat including interrupts?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave, or "Phineas" or "Tolstoy" or,
United States
Mount Holly
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
tigermuppetcut wrote:
Can you play a combat card and then after the dice roll an interrupt card? Or is the limit of one card per combat including interrupts?

I do not think so. From the FAQ:
Fleet Captains FAQ pg 5 wrote:
Q. Can an interrupt card be played in addition to a non-interrupt card during an opposed test?
A. No. Only 1 Command card may be played from your hand during a test, the Interrupt ability allows for the card to be played in more situations - not as an additional card.


Also,
Fleet Captains FAQ pg 7 wrote:
Q. I don’t know why some cards are labeled Interrupt?
A. Some Interrupt cards are very useful to be played on your opponent’s turn, while for others the Interrupt label is describing that the card can be used for more than one type of event (moving or a systems test or a particular encounter etc). It also allows more design space for possible future expansions. So, an Interrupt, unless it says something like Interrupt (active player), is a non-conditional Ops card. You can't play them on Combat tests but if you had an Encounter that had a Weapons or Shields test (and doesn't say it was Combat), you could play it as your single command card.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alastair Cornish
United Kingdom
Bromley
Kent
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hmmmm that mentions from your hand, what about discarding crew to get their non crew effects? Can you end up playing additional cards on a single test that way? Thanks for all your help
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave, or "Phineas" or "Tolstoy" or,
United States
Mount Holly
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
tigermuppetcut wrote:
what about discarding crew to get their non crew effects? Can you end up playing additional cards on a single test that way?


Yes indeed.

Fleet Captains Rules page 27 wrote:
Many Crew Cards also have Ops or Combat effects on them. You may play these cards from you hand as a normal Ops or Combat Card. But if you do, the card will be discarded after it is resolved, so you won’t be able to assign it to a ship.

When a Crew Card is assigned to a ship, however, you may choose to discard it to use any Ops or Combat effect on that card instead of the usual Crew Card effect. This would represent a crewman making a special sacrifice or pushing himself to the limit to serve his ship. You must still meet any requirements or restrictions for playing the Combat or Ops Card. Also, only the ship that the Crew Card was assigned to can benefit from the Combat or Ops effect of the card.

Example: Mr. Spock has been assigned to the U.S.S. Enterprise. As an Officer Crew Card, he grants the Enterprise +3 Sensors (along with other benefits). Mr. Spock also has an Ops effect (+5 Sensors). The Federation player could discard Mr. Spock to receive the +5 Sensors Ops effect instead of the normal +3 bonus, but only if the Enterprise is making the test. Mr. Spock could not be discarded to give a +5 Sensors bonus to the U.S.S. Yeager.

Note: Discarding a Crew Card to use the Ops or Combat effect does not count as playing a Command Card. So, you may use this benefit in addition to playing your single Combat or Ops Card during a test.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alastair Cornish
United Kingdom
Bromley
Kent
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Awesome thanks for all your help, much appreciated I love this game!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.