Popular Tags: [View All]
Nathan Dennis
United States
Sacramento
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
For those of you that are painting the minis ... are you painting them and then glueing to the base or glueing and then painting?

I'm a total painting newb

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
GeekInsight
United States
Whittier
California
flag msg tools
Giant Fire Breathing Robot
badge
gfbrobot.com
mbmbmbmbmb
Paint, then glue. I wouldn't want to get errant paint on the clear bases.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alyn Roddis
United Kingdom
Chesterfield
Derbyshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
MyParadox wrote:
Paint, then glue. I wouldn't want to get errant paint on the clear bases.

How are you holding the models while you paint them? I can't figure out how to do that - none of my usual methods are working.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jared Paton
Canada
St. Catharines
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I put a drop of hot glue on the head of a roofing nail, and stuck one of the foot pegs in the glue. That way, you've got the roofing nail to hold onto while you paint. Try not to get the glue over the top of the foot.

The model should just pop right out of the glue, make sure to use craft stuff, not the heavy-duty stuff. I also use a piece of pink Styrofoam insulation to hold all of the nailed models.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alyn Roddis
United Kingdom
Chesterfield
Derbyshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you, that's a good idea. If only I had a glue gun!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J Sinnett
United States
Philomath
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Gotta ask, because I never actually found a specific answer the last time I was looking...

Good primer to use on these minis (and presumably also the GSF minis)?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dylan Thurston
United States
Ann Arbor
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb