Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Stronghold» Forums » Rules

Subject: Unit sacrificed to get rid of a saboteur rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Stephen Meyers
United States
Frederick
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

If a unit sacrificed to get rid of a saboteur:

Effect: If there are Saboteurs inside the Stronghold, the Defender
may assign a Unit from the Guards to remove all Saboteurs from
the Stronghold. The assigned Unit is returned to the supply.


1st What is a "guards" unit?

2nd When it is returned to supply, can it later be built again?
Is it the same supply mentioned on the bottom right of page 5?

• All remaining Defender pieces form a supply next to the board.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Drake Coldwinter
Canada
Quebec
Quebec
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There is a building called guards (just below the central square plaza). So a guards unit is any soldier at that place.

The unit is send to the supply, so it gets out of the castle. As the defender can't build new units the answer would be no, he can't build it again. The defender can upgrade units, so if you put out a red soldier, you can later upgrade a green one into the red you discarded using the guards action.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Meyers
United States
Frederick
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb


So any Green unit in the off board supply pile can be upgraded into a Red unit? Or can only green units in the On Board Barrack may be used?

I thought that once a green unit was killed and put into supply, that it was dead and could not return ever??

In fact, if a green unit is upgraded to a Red unit, where does that Green unit go? Into supply from whence he can never ever return or can that green unit return so that the defender can use it to build Red units??

My son insisted that the Defender can reuse green units in supply, to build red units. Otherwise he says, why use the word supply? Which is correct?

For me the use of the word Supply is very confusing and unfortunate. Why not distinguish Supply, which implies availability, from "Dead Pile" which does not?


Again do any Defender units or Invader units ever return to the board from Supply?

Which specific units start in Supply off the board according to this setup rule:

All remaining Defender pieces form a supply next to the board

This implies they come onto the board. OK but hwy later in the game do units in Supply are considered Killed and never return.

How do you distinguish those units in Supply that are dead from the other units in Supply that are alive and can still be placed on the Board?

In the rules Supply contain both dead and alive units!!

This is so puzzling to me!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rafael Castrequini
Brazil
Valinhos
SP
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb


Hi, Defender only got one supply.

A green unit could be upgraded to a red unit. (pay the time-cost) revome the green unit from the barrack and put it in the supply (out of the board). Now take a red unit from the supply and put it in the barrack.

You could do the same with with units. So, a previous killed or upgraded green unit could came back through upgranding a white unit.

For the Invaders: you can call "alive units" those inside the cloth bag. When you take a unit and use it to "work" in a phase card or when it is killed, you remove that unit from board (and from the game). Those units are dead and cannot return to the game. (there is a exception: special action at the back of 5th phase card)

HTH.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.