Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Star Realms» Forums » Rules

Subject: Star Base Omega? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
MGS
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Warhammer: Diskwars
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The wording is a little funny. If I have starbase omega on the table and in a future turn I play another base, do I get to draw a card? I think the answer has to be "yes".
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Gameson
United Kingdom
Worcestershire
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
"If you play a base this turn (including this one) draw a card" - is that the right wording?

If it is, then I'd say yes it would - if you play this base or any other base after S.B.O is active in play, then you get to draw a card.

At least I think!

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
MGS
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Warhammer: Diskwars
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The funny thing is that it says "if you played..."
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Staudt
Germany
Rutesheim
Baden-W├╝rttemberg
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ronaldo wrote:
The dunne thing is that it says "if you played..."


You can activate the ability of bases at any time during your turn.
This ability has a prerequisite of having played a base this turn.
There is a clarification that it 'can count itself'.

So the wording seems clear to me.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
MGS
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Warhammer: Diskwars
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That makes sense
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jacob Lee
Canada
Victoria
British Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
We just played this last night, stopped to question this card and decided it meant one card per base played including itself because it just seemed like funny wording to use "if" when the card counts for itself. Why would "if" even apply when the card itself is a base? You will always have played a base this turn if the card is a base.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
MGS
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Warhammer: Diskwars
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Because in future turns, it will be active but you will not have played it that turn. But, if you play another base, you draw a card. I don't think star base omega generates more than one drawn card each turn.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jacob Lee
Canada
Victoria
British Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Now I get it. Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Newton
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
EmperorJacob wrote:
We just played this last night, stopped to question this card and decided it meant one card per base played including itself because it just seemed like funny wording to use "if" when the card counts for itself. Why would "if" even apply when the card itself is a base? You will always have played a base this turn if the card is a base.


I don't agree with how I understand that you understand the card.
It means 1 card every turn that you play a base. Activating a base or having a base in play does not count. Only playing a base from your hand to the field counts, and you can only use the ability at most once a turn.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.