Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Fleet Commander: Nimitz» Forums » Rules

Subject: First light attack timing rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Paul Messerly
United States
Sherman Oaks
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
I have a few rules questions after my first campaign...

1. If I destroy (or damage) an enemy carrier or airfield with a first light attack, are the enemy aircraft destroyed before they can activate?

2. Are transports legal targets for air attacks? Does damaging a transport destroy or damage any of the troops being transported?

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Was George Orwell an Optimist?
United States
Corvallis
Oregon
flag msg tools
Randy Weston - The Spirits of Our Ancestors
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mermuse wrote:
2. Are transports legal targets for air attacks? Does damaging a transport destroy or damage any of the troops being transported?

Mine just arrived and I haven't read the rules yet, but if the answers to that aren't affirmative, I'll be very surprised.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Verssen
United States
Glendora
California
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmb
1 - Yes, the aircraft are immediately Destroyed.

2 - They are, but they must be attacked in normal value order.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Chick
United States
Tujunga
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
DanVerssen wrote:
2 - They are, but they must be attacked in normal value order.


Don't transports have a hit value of four? I haven't looked at all the counters, but it seems to me you'll never be able to attack transports until they're literally the only ships in the ocean. And since troops will disembark from the ocean onto the beach after the first phase of combat, I can't imagine many scenarios where escorted transports will be vulnerable to attack.

-Tom
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Paul Messerly
United States
Sherman Oaks
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
TomChick wrote:
DanVerssen wrote:
2 - They are, but they must be attacked in normal value order.


Don't transports have a hit value of four? I haven't looked at all the counters, but it seems to me you'll never be able to attack transports until they're literally the only ships in the ocean. And since troops will disembark from the ocean onto the beach after the first phase of combat, I can't imagine many scenarios where escorted transports will be vulnerable to attack.

-Tom


Yes they have a value of 4 so it doesn't happen often. I've only destroyed a transport once before it reached the beaches and that was only because I had the "Diving Attack" battle plan.

The question I was really hinting at above is...

Does a single hit on a transport remove any troops?

I only ask this because on my first play thru I missed the rule that says a damaged aircraft carrier can no longer carry ANY aircraft. So I'm curious if a similar thing is true of transports because getting two hits is almost impossible.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Carey
United States
West Coast
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mermuse wrote:
The question I was really hinting at above is... Does a single hit on a transport remove any troops?


I had a question also - can a Transport carry more than a single ground unit?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Chick
United States
Tujunga
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mermuse wrote:
Does a single hit on a transport remove any troops?


The rules (page 17, under the heading "allocating hits") specify that a hit on a transport inflicts a hit on one of the infantry being carried. And to answer Steve's question, a transport may carry multiple infantry.

-Tom
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.