Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Smash Up» Forums » Rules

Subject: Playing Assassination on a Brownie rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ulrik Petersen
United States
Baton Rouge
Louisiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So we had a disagreement about how Assassination interacts with the Brownie’s ability. We came up with three possible interpretations:

1. It bypasses the ability because it does not have an effect at the time it is played.

2. It triggers when the card is played because it will ultimately affect the Brownie.

3. It triggers when the Brownie is destroyed because that is when the Brownie is affected.

How do you interpret this situation?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J
United States
Alexandria
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
DrCollector wrote:
So we had a disagreement about how Assassination interacts with the Brownie’s ability. We came up with three possible interpretations:

1. It bypasses the ability because it does not have an effect at the time it is played.

2. It triggers when the card is played because it will ultimately affect the Brownie.

3. It triggers when the Brownie is destroyed because that is when the Brownie is affected.

How do you interpret this situation?


4. It triggers when the card is played because playing a card on a minion is considered affecting it (see definition in the book). It does NOT trigger when the Brownie is destroyed because Brownie's ability triggers only in response to a player "playing" a card that affects it.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Gameson
United Kingdom
Worcestershire
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Brownie: "Ongoing: After another player plays a card that affects this minion, that player discards 2 random cards"

J's option is correct here, although your no. 2 is too, but not for the right reasons . Playing Assassination onto the Brownie affects it, so that will trigger the effect then.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sachin Daniels
Canada
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Same train of thought, what about monkey on your back. Is using the talent to destroy the brownie affecting the minion?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matrav
United States
Indiana
flag msg tools
Deuce47 wrote:
Same train of thought, what about monkey on your back. Is using the talent to destroy the brownie affecting the minion?


Well, yes, using the Talent of 'Monkey on Your Back' does indeed affect the Brownie, destroying it. However, it will not cause Brownie's effect to trigger, because when Monkey on Your Back is PLAYED, it is NOT affecting the Brownie. It is only affecting the minion it is played on. Activating a Talent is not the same as playing a card.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Gameson
United Kingdom
Worcestershire
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
matrav wrote:
Deuce47 wrote:
Same train of thought, what about monkey on your back. Is using the talent to destroy the brownie affecting the minion?


Well, yes, using the Talent of 'Monkey on Your Back' does indeed affect the Brownie, destroying it. However, it will not cause Brownie's effect to trigger, because when Monkey on Your Back is PLAYED, it is NOT affecting the Brownie. It is only affecting the minion it is played on. Activating a Talent is not the same as playing a card.


Correct; the Brownie's effect only triggers when a card is played, not when an effect is triggered.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.