Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Rasmus Helms
Denmark
Aalborg
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi everyone

Lately I've found myself playing a couple of games on my iPad as well as playing games online.
That until I recently realized, that I don't really enjoy playing online or on my iPad against an AI.
I've been playing Pandemic, Lords of Waterdeep, Dominion and a few others, and I've grown a fear that my impression with the game on the iPad or on my laptop will carry over to the actual board game.

I have never tried a real game of Pandemic (but expect to find one wrapped up under the tree) and have only been able to get my friends Dominion to the table once, with one other player who obviously didn't get the hang of the game. - so I have no real experience with any of the games.

Dominion I actually enjoyed quite a bit at first against the AI, but after the tutorials I was ripped apart :-) But it really seems like a game I'd love and could easily get my family to play.
Pandemic however is a different matter:
After playing 10-15 games of Pandemic (mostly by myself and a few times with my girlfriend) I've realized that I just don't enjoy it as much as I would have hoped. And this is where I want your opinion!

What is your experience? Can a game be 'meh' for you on the iPad or online and still shine when you play the actual board game?
I guess having actual interaction with other living people around the table is what makes board gaming such a great thing! So I hope this worry of mine, is just silly thinking and it all turns out great, when I hopefully get the game for christmas :-)

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Riddle
United States
Oxford
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Depends on the game. Mostly I prefer real life though waterdeep and stone age are two I prefer iPad for expediency

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
bort
Australia
Brisbane
Qld
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb