Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
T. Hedden
United States
Cambridge
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
This session report describes the first play of this very involved game by two complete novices, and attempts to provide both a first impression of the game and a bit of a strategic guide for new players (see italicized notes), mostly through the admission of mistakes and the detailing of wrong turns.

The players: Myself (blue) and K.G. (yellow).

Getting ready:
After failing to get the game to the table after a very thorough read-through of the rules two weeks ago, I had to spend some time rereading to refresh my memory. The board is set up for a two-player face-off, and we sit down at about 9:30pm. It takes about 45 minutes to get through an explanation of the concepts and phase rules, but everything seems relatively clear and we have the rules book handy for reference. We go through the strategic hints provided in the back of the rulebook. We both agree that the game hinges on management of pollution, so we ignore the advice to play without pollution and famine during the first game. We choose starting cities – both within reach of an exploration hex – blue builds in the middle of a large forest (figuring the woodcutters will clear it before long) and beside two small lakes with some small mountain ranges not far away; yellow chooses what I later realize is a really prime location, with access to a large mountain range, forest, fields, and adjacent to two larger lakes. The game begins in earnest at about 10:15pm.

The early game:
[Note: this is a reconstructed sequence.]