Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Star Wars: Imperial Assault» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can you spend more than 1 surge to recover 1 strain? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Matthew Robinson
United States
Los Angeles
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rules say you can spend 1(surge) to recover 1(strain) does that mean you are limited to one regardless of how many extra surge you roll?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes. Like all other surge abilities, it can only be used once per attack.

The RRG backs up the once per attack in several places where it mentions this rule.

Edit: For example:

Surges section wrote:
• During a campaign, a hero performing an attack may spend
1(surge) to recover 1(strain).
• Each (surge) ability can be triggered only once per attack.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jo Bartok
Germany
Zwingenberg
Hessen
flag msg tools
Interaction leads to Immersion.
badge
Immersion leads to Fun.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
They should have printed it on the hero sheet.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ionas wrote:
They should have printed it on the hero sheet.

I can see three reasons why this wouldn't be a good idea.

1: It makes it seem like it's a per-Hero ability, rather than something that applies to all Heroes.

2: People might think they can use it to recover strain during Attribute Tests and other things that involve the Hero rolling dice outside of attacks.

3: The text belongs on weapons rather than on the character sheets. It would be better to have every weapon have the ability. Again, this would make it seem like a per-weapon ability that some weapons might not have.

So yeah, being on the character sheet is perhaps not the best solution. I'd much prefer some reference cards listing the common actions, how often they can be performed per activation and mentioning that ability to have been included.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jo Bartok
Germany
Zwingenberg
Hessen
flag msg tools
Interaction leads to Immersion.
badge
Immersion leads to Fun.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hm, possibly weapons yes but the jedis weapon and sporting blaster don't have the space. Ref sheets are kinda missing.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nico
Germany
Bochum
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
I'd much prefer some reference cards listing the common actions


I remember that someone created a class card for exactly that purpose for Descent 2nd. Might not be long till we see it for SW:IA
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jo Bartok
Germany
Zwingenberg
Hessen
flag msg tools
Interaction leads to Immersion.
badge
Immersion leads to Fun.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In regards to the basic question. No you can't BUT you can exploit around it using extra attacks. The Jedi, Wookie, Scoundrel and Sniper have some. But often you want to spend those surges for stuff like pierce, cleave or stun.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.