Brent Wilson
United States
Montgomery
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There are a couple objective cards that require trade routes: From memory, they are Sea Lanes and Traders, I think.

The rules say that pirates "block" trade routes, but don't clarify what it means for a trade route to be "blocked."

Can resources be collected from blocked routes? Obviously not.

Do blocked routes still exist to be counted by Sea Lanes? I would guess not, but am not 100% sure.

The confusion lies in the subtlety of the definition of "Blocked"

Here's one example definition from google:

Quote:
restrict the use or conversion of (currency or any other asset).


That definition clearly assumes that the thing being blocked still exists as a thing, it just isn't able to be used.

Christian, what was your intent with Pirates and Trade Route Objectives?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian Marcussen
Denmark
Odense C
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Do Pirates prevent the claiming of Objective cards for trade routes
In relation to the rules: If you can't collect income via trade routes, they arent trade routes, and do not qualify for completion of objectives requiring trade routes.

So the pirates prevent them from being established and break them if they are established.
14 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M.C.Crispy
United Kingdom
Basingstoke
Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Do Pirates prevent the claiming of Objective cards for trade routes
Nice early intervention there Christian, thank you
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Challis
United Kingdom
Hungerford
West Berkshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
marqzen wrote:
In relation to the rules: If you can't collect income via trade routes, they arent trade routes, and do not qualify for completion of objectives requiring trade routes.

So the pirates prevent them from being established and break them if they are established.


What I'd have assumed but good to have in black and white...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brent Wilson
United States
Montgomery
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
marqzen wrote:
In relation to the rules: If you can't collect income via trade routes, they arent trade routes, and do not qualify for completion of objectives requiring trade routes.

So the pirates prevent them from being established and break them if they are established.


Thanks again.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.