Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

BattleLore (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Ranged units attacking at range 1 rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Cuesta
Ecuador
Guayaquil
Select One...
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
When a ranged unit attacks at range 1, i assume it may choose to make either a ranged or a melee attack. If they do a ranged attack, can the enemy counter the attack? And if they don't move and attack in melee, do the get to attack twice too?
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ubergeek
United States
Washougal
Washington
flag msg tools
Be Happy in your Game!
badge
I spent 100 Geek Gold and all I got was this lousy overtext message!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
p.8 The active player declares the attack type for his attacking
unit: melee or ranged as shown on the unit’s corresponding
unit reference card. He also declares an enemy unit as the target
of the attack; this unit is the target unit during this attack.
A unit with the melee trait can only perform a melee attack
against a target unit in an adjacent hex (see “Traits” on page 13).
A unit with the ranged trait can only perform a ranged attack
against a target unit that is within range and in line of sight.


Unless it has both traits, it can only attack with its listed trait. So even if next to a unit, it's a ranged attack.

Quote:
p.10 Counter
After a unit is attacked, if that unit is not eliminated and is
adjacent to the attacking unit, it may counter. To perform
a counter, the unit follows the combat sequence targeting the
attacking unit. Performing a counter is optional, and a counter
cannot trigger an additional counter.


If the surviving unit is adjacent to the attack, it many counter, even if it was from a ranged adjacent attack.

As to your last question, they would need a special ability or card to allow them to do so. If they're a ranged unit, they range attack, not melee.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike
Netherlands
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
What unit(s) has/have both traits?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian Ringlstetter
Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
None yet...
But who knows what the expansions may bring?!?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Hubbard
United States
Mullica Hill
New Jersey
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
It's interesting to note (thanks to the Hernfar Guardians sneak peak) that we now have a ranged unit (Siege Golem) with a range of 2-6. I assume this means he's helpless in melee combat.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In the base game, the Rune Golems can, in one scenario, have both. B2, Barrow Mounds of the Gatesmen, allows Golems to gain the ability to make Ranged Attacks (range 2-3) in certain cases. In those cases, the Rune Golem could choose to either make a Ranged Attack OR a Melee attack against their adjacent unit.

Just note that if the Rune Golem chooses the Ranged Attack, for that attack he only hits on the Pierce result That's one of the primary differences between Ranged attacks and Melee attacks, and thus is why it's important to note that Ranged units that are attacking adjacent are still attacking with a "ranged" attack.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Cuesta
Ecuador
Guayaquil
Select One...
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the answers.

In the barrow mound scenario the golems wouldnt be able to make ranged attacks at adjacend enemies. Their range for ranged attacks, as you pointed out, is 2-3.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
QuimeraEC wrote:
Thanks for the answers.

In the barrow mound scenario the golems wouldnt be able to make ranged attacks at adjacend enemies. Their range for ranged attacks, as you pointed out, is 2-3.

Correct, but why would they want to, since their melee attacks would have better chances to hit anyway
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.