Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Star Wars: Imperial Assault» Forums » Rules

Subject: E-Web Engineer Assault Ability Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Read the rulebook, plan for all contingencies, and…read the rulebook again.
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So how does the E-Web Engineer use his Assault ability to make multiple attacks if Imperial Deployment cards are allowed only one Attack action?

May the figure simply Attack every hostile figure in LOS during its one Attack action? Or is there some ability interaction between Imperial figures that I'm missing that allows it to attack more than once during the action?

A friend and I are stumped about how the ability is applied. Thanks in advance for any assistance that folks can lend!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dustin
United States
Kentucky
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I understand as he may use both his actions to do attacks.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard A. Edwards
United States
Lacey
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
"Card abilities can override the rules..."
Rules Reference, page 2.

So his card ability to make two attacks overrides the general rule that he can't.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Read the rulebook, plan for all contingencies, and…read the rulebook again.
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I knew I had to be looking right past something simple! Thanks for your help, gentlemen!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Hladky
Czech Republic
flag msg tools
badge
Working on Perdition's Mouth game content
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
AFAIK there is no "dragon breath" from Descent 1E attack type. Just cleave and blast, that is explained.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jo Bartok
Germany
Zwingenberg
Hessen
flag msg tools
Interaction leads to Immersion.
badge
Immersion leads to Fun.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes. Cleave only hits 1 additional target for Cleave X (x damage).
Blast hits all the adjacent targets but only for X (usually 1).
Brutal Cleave and Brutality focus another target.
So all that is very limited. Still Way of Sarloc with cleave can be quite evil, and if its not enough, add a grenade.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryce K. Nielsen
United States
Elk Ridge
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
"Golden Rule", cards override rulebooks. So if a card allows multiple attacks, like the E-Web or Fenn Signis (in Skirmishes), then they can do so.

-shnar
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Hladky
Czech Republic
flag msg tools
badge
Working on Perdition's Mouth game content
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Right, but this unit can simply do two normal attacks and not shoot multiple targets with single one. If you watch some Gencon presentations (Teamcovenant has a nice one), you can see e-web in action.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jamal Rahhali
Canada
Halifax
Nova Scotia
flag msg tools
mbmb
Why does the card use the word 'multiple'? That's where the confusion came in for me. To me, the word multiple implies no upper limit on the amount of attacks he can perform, which is confusing.

Why not just say "Can use both actions to perform an attack"? or something similar?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jordan Booth
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The word "multiple" is used to leave it open to future expansions that may allow an ability to grant a figure extra actions.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.