Recommend
7 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Lord of the Rings» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can Sam use his ability when using the ring? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Fred Methot
Canada
SAINTE-JULIE
QUEBEC
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So Sam is the ring bearer...

We're 3 spaces away from finishing Rohan, the active player just flipped an event card and the next event is pretty bad.

Sam interupts and uses the ring, he rolls the (2 cards) side.
So he would be allowed to move 2 spaces on the main line then, but with his special ability, does he actually gets to move 3 spaces (since only 1 negative effect of any die roll is considered)?

We played it that yes, it takes effect on EVERY die roll, so he moved the required 3 spaces to finish Rohan, did we do it right?

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryan Stout
United States
Annandale
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sorry, you did it wrong. The roll of the die determines both the damage and the amount forward; Sam's ability reduces the damage, but does not increase the amount moved. Here's a quote from Chris Lawson's "Expanded Rules" page:
Quote:
[Example: Sam, the current Ring-bearer decides to use the Ring. He rolls the Triple dot symbol on the die so first moves forward one space on the Corruption line (due to Sam's special skill) and then decides which Activity marker to move forward one space. If he rolled the Two cards symbol on the die he would have to discard a single card and then move an Activity marker forward two spaces.]

That page is found at:
http://freespace.virgin.net/chris.lawson/rk/lotr/faq.htm
for those who don't know already.

Regards,
Bryan
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fred Methot
Canada
SAINTE-JULIE
QUEBEC
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks a bunch Bryan!

We're still learning all the details.
Well, no big deal, we lost on Mordor after a VERY unlucky event tile pile (4 events in a row!!!).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.