Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Grant Whitesell
United States
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I've been inspired by reading a lot of the threads on this site to try my hand at designing some titles. I hope to have progress made on some original works later, but for now I wanted to focus on some of the design and playtest aspects.

Not having created anything before, and being a huge fan of Love Letter, I thought the best place to start practicing was by making a re-theme...with a few twists.

My main focus from a design standpoint was to try to get things as consistent as possible. I'm not a graphic artist or illustrator by any means, obviously - but I wanted them to look semi-pro at a glance. If I print them with the intention of getting them out of the sleeves and sealed proper, I'd probably play with some transparency on the card instruction box, which is kinda big, and the character art doesn't "pop" as much as it could.

I also wanted to scale it to six players...so there are additional copies of each role AND additional abilities that come into play with at least five players.

For example, there are two '0' value cards - Mystique and Rogue that simply mimic the last player's action.

Additionally, the guards have to call out a specific character, but they aren't immune from the effect. Plus, in a 5-6 player game they gain UNO-like abilities like reversing turn order and skipping the next player.

I've tried it a few times and it works well. Had a lot of fun putting it together and I'd recommend trying a Love Letter re-theme to anyone thinking about getting into game design.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Holyoak
United States
Idaho Falls
Idaho
flag msg tools
designer
Designer Wannabe
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
The cards look really nice!
Love the idea of the game scaling to 6 players!
And my kids love Marvel and the X-Men.
Have you posted your rules variant/card text any where.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grant Whitesell