Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Dominare» Forums » Rules

Subject: Shadowmen rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Matt Logan
United States
Peoria
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Do I have this right?

- Shadowmen Canvass in the Swamp District

- When spreading influence, Shadowmen ignore adjacency rules. However, they
must honor the spending rules for spreading influence.

- Shadowmen can Canvass somewhere besides the Swamp District for the cost
of 1 crown.

- In other words, during Canvassing, Shadowmen can place their inlfuence
cubes in any block on the board for a cost of 1 crown per block. However,
if the initial block they place influence in is a Swamp block, it's free.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian B.
United States
Boston
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
char(filter(1,[1 -1],[66 5 0 -39 82 -3 -12 8 8 -82]))
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Correct. The programming side of my brain likes to think of it this way:

ShadowmenCost = NumberOfBlocksCanvassedIn

If NumberofSwampBlocksCanvassedIn >= 1
Then ShadowmenCost = ShadowmenCost - 1
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Logan
United States
Peoria
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Excellent. Thank you.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Cook
United States
Bloomington
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Matt Logan wrote:


- In other words, during Canvassing, Shadowmen can place their inlfuence
cubes in any block on the board for a cost of 1 crown per block. However,
if the initial block they place influence in is a Swamp block, it's free.



The ignore adjacency rules, but are they still limited by the rule that they can place in 2 total districts, the same way others are limited when spreading influence?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian B.
United States
Boston
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
char(filter(1,[1 -1],[66 5 0 -39 82 -3 -12 8 8 -82]))
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
bwcook123 wrote:
The ignore adjacency rules, but are they still limited by the rule that they can place in 2 total districts, the same way others are limited when spreading influence?


Short answer: The Shadowmen can place in an as many districts as they want.

Long answer, with rules quotes and interpretations

This is an interesting question. The question centers around this sentence:

Rules, p. 18 wrote:
When spreading influence, a Shadowmen agent can spread influence into any adjacent black, ignoring the rules of adjacency (see page page 12)


(Quoted exactly as in the rule book, including the repetition of the word "page.")

Going back to p. 12, we read:
Rules, p. 12 wrote:
An agent can spread influence into any number of adjacent blocks, but only into one adjacent district.


So how do we ignore the word "adjacent" in the rule from page 12? Literally, we would read "An agent can spread influence into any number of blocks, but only into one district." That last part, however, would make no sense for the Shadowmen, so I believe we can ignore that entire part of the phrase. Thus, they can place in as many districts as they like.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pas L
Australia
Melbourne
Victoria
flag msg tools
Nothing will come of nothing.
badge
Speak again.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This is wrong in the OP. Shadowmen must place their first cube of influence in the swamp, then they can pay one or more to put the rest of the influence anywhere else.

However they must place at least one in a swamp district.

They ain't artistic like, roaming as they will, they are criminals with a base, pushing from there in to other areas.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian B.
United States
Boston
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
char(filter(1,[1 -1],[66 5 0 -39 82 -3 -12 8 8 -82]))
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't think that's right. The rules explicitly say that the shadowmen pay 1 less if they place their first cube in a swamp district. If the shadowmen had to place their first cube in a swamp district, that rule would not be needed.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pas L
Australia
Melbourne
Victoria
flag msg tools
Nothing will come of nothing.
badge
Speak again.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hmm, I'm either blind or they did a second version of the game, as I never noticed that before (just read rules online). This what happens when you rely on the reference cards and don't re read the rules frequently.

The rule is that if you don't play your first influence in a swamp it costs you one extra, so the correct thing is:

Play swamp then spread anywhere costs 1 for ever spread area.

Play no swamp costs 1 + 1 extra for every spread area.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
ty chong
Singapore
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
let me see if I understand shadowmen correctly.

some yes / no questions to ask.

if I start canvassing in swamp region, there is no cost.

if I canvass in anywhere other than swamp, I pay 1 crown for each cube I place inside the block.

I can spread influence anywhere, without bothering about adjacency, as long as I keep to 2 regions max.

cost to spread influence is still 1 crown per cube.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin C.
United States
Bethlehem
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sorry to wake this thread up after so many months, but didn't want to start another with this here.

I'd just like to see if there is a concrete answer to a question I have about the Shadowmen.

I understand that I can pay 1 to put my first influence anywhere on the board. Do I then I have to pay for subsequent influence if I put it in that same block?

For example, if I want to put three cubes in a Senate block, do I pay three gold or do I just pay one for the first influence cube and the other two come along for the ride, so to speak?

Thanks very much,

Kevin
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian B.
United States
Boston
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
char(filter(1,[1 -1],[66 5 0 -39 82 -3 -12 8 8 -82]))
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As I understand it, it's one coin per block, not one coin per influence. So in your example, you'd pay 1, not 3.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.