Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Cuba Libre» Forums » Rules

Subject: March/cash question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Edwin S
United Kingdom
Bristol
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quick clarification on whether something's possible. The way I'm reading the rules, it is: but it's somewhat sneaky so it would be good to have a ruling!

As the Syndicate, I have open casinos and guerrillas in Pinar Del Rio and La Habana. Can I profit/march to 1) get cash on the board in both spaces 2) march a guerrilla with cash from Pinar del Rio to La Habana 3) transfer the cash to an unmoved guerrilla in La Habana 4) march that guerrilla (now with the cash from both La Habana and Pinar del Rio) into Matanzas?

The question's basically whether I can transfer the cash in between resolving two parts of the march order, in order to shift it two spaces in one turn. I guess if I had a guerrilla in Matanzas too, I could keep on moving it further as far as I had fresh guerrillas to march.
It seems legit to me because the rules state that cash can be transferred at any time, but clarification would be helpful.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jacob Williams
United States
Indianapolis
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Cash can be transferred at anytime. And even though the special activity can happen at anytime time before, after, or during an Op, I think you have to complete it before resuming your op.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam H
United Kingdom
Glasgow
Scotland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ilikegames wrote:
Quick clarification on whether something's possible. The way I'm reading the rules, it is: but it's somewhat sneaky so it would be good to have a ruling!

As the Syndicate, I have open casinos and guerrillas in Pinar Del Rio and La Habana. Can I profit/march to 1) get cash on the board in both spaces 2) march a guerrilla with cash from Pinar del Rio to La Habana 3) transfer the cash to an unmoved guerrilla in La Habana 4) march that guerrilla (now with the cash from both La Habana and Pinar del Rio) into Matanzas?

The question's basically whether I can transfer the cash in between resolving two parts of the march order, in order to shift it two spaces in one turn. I guess if I had a guerrilla in Matanzas too, I could keep on moving it further as far as I had fresh guerrillas to march.
It seems legit to me because the rules state that cash can be transferred at any time, but clarification would be helpful.


This is a very good question. My instinct would be that it is allowed, but it'd be good to have an official ruling on this.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Edwin S
United Kingdom
Bristol
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ChromiumAgeCollector wrote:
Cash can be transferred at anytime. And even though the special activity can happen at anytime time before, after, or during an Op, I think you have to complete it before resuming your op.

True, but not what I asked. The question is not about cash coming onto the map, but how it fits with the Op once it's there.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jacob Williams
United States
Indianapolis
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't understand your question then...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Edwin S
United Kingdom
Bristol
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
OK, I'll rephrase it.

Let's say I have guerrillas in Pinar Del Rio and La Habana, and a cash marker in Pinar Del Rio. I pick March, and march the guerrilla in Pinar Del Rio into La Habana with the cash. Can I transfer the cash to the other guerrilla in La Habana (who has not yet moved) and then move him, and the cash, into Matanzas? i.e. effectively moving the cash two spaces in one turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oerjan Ariander
Sweden
HUDDINGE
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
I can't see anything in the rules that would prevent it, so I guess it is legal...

Just in case, I also notified Volko to see what he thinks.

Regards, Oerjan
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oerjan Ariander
Sweden
HUDDINGE
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Follow-up: Volko too agrees that this is legal under the rules as written, and neither of us can see any problem with it from either a game balance or a historical point of view.

If you try it out and it does create problems (other than making your opponents upset, that is ), please let us know!

Regards, Oerjan
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.