Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Ardennes '44» Forums » Rules

Subject: Strategic Movement Marker Removal at Night rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Robert B
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can a Strategic Movement marker be removed at night?

The rule states: If a unit uses a SM or Truck marker then the marker must remain on the unit until the next friendly Movement Phase

If a KG Peiper unit uses Strategic Movement on turn 2 (Dec 16 PM), can it then remove the marker and move normally during the following night turn?

If the Allied player uses Strategic Movement during a PM turn, can he remove the markers during his following night turn and avoid negative combat effects before the German can attack?


1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jean-Claude CONSTANTIN
France
LAMBERSART
flag msg tools
mb
As a home-rule I remove the SM marker only if the unit/stack has been selected for night action.

Regards
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Cawley
United States
Anthem
Arizona
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes on 1 and no on 2.

Peiper won't be strategic moving on turn 2 anyway. First, none of his units move on turn 1. Then on turn 2, there will be lots of Americans ahead of him. He can't cross army boundary. If any of his units strategic move, they can't stack with anything and can't even end next to each other on the same road, if 2 or more units use it. So where is he going in such a hurry? It is not like he can attack or enter ZOC if he strat moves, either. Between his turn 2 move and his pre turn 3 night move, all his units have enough movement allowance to make it to the line.

The usual thing is to use him to attack on turn 2, especially his armor, because the front line VG and FJ infantry can't get high odds within the stacking limits without added armor. Then in the night turn, the can spread if needed to pick up locals, and hit again. Then again in the German AM turn on turn 3. Historically that's when he broke out, and the game encourages that through up to 3 combat phases on the same frontage before the German turn 3 movement. If the last makes any hole, he goes through it.

On the US question, the intent is to leave any formation using strat move vulnerable - 1 column shift - if actually engaged on the enemy's next turn. But also, anyone but turn 2 Peiper only gets to do a night move if they move only a single MP in the previous PM turn. So they won't be strat moving then night moving. There is also no strat moving at night. The case just can't come up, therefore.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.