Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Pax Romana» Forums » Rules

Subject: Naval Transport and Stopping... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Weirich
United States
Tucson
Arizona
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
No one else seems the have asked this question, so I guess I'll throw it out there. If you get stopped during naval transport can you continue to move that activation? If it's galleys only I think they MUST stop, but I'm not sure about land units only. From reading other people's questions it seems to me that as long as you have more MP, you can do another naval transport or move over land, but I can't find that explicitly anywhere in the rules. If you can continue moving after being stopped, if you get stopped by a naval disaster, can you just spend a MP and keep moving?

I guess may main problem is to me stopping means stopping. That's it, that move is over. You can move other units, but not that one anymore because it's been stopped.

This has major implications for defense (ie, line your borders with garissons so if they fail continuation they're stuck there for that activation), so please help.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Bravey
United Kingdom
Stafford
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If your armies are using naval transport and have to stop due to failing continuation in a land space then they have to disembark (which costs an MP). If they still have enough MP left (minimum 3) then they can re-embark and sail on. I'll admit that this wasn't clear to me from reading the rules either but this has come up on CSW a few times.

A Garrison in the land space would just mean it costs an extra MP to disembark so it wouldn't automatically mean they they couldn't carry on moving. Turning a HI or Legion into Garrisons just to use as speed bumps isn't a very cost effective thing to do - using a LI a bit more cost effective but you're still better off turning them into towns if you can defend them.

Paul
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Neil Randall
Canada
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmb
I think this is what you want, at least for naval transport movement. It's from 11.32 of the Living Rules:

• If a Naval Transport fleet Stops in a non-friendly Port Space
because it fails its Continuity roll, the Land units being transported
must debark in that Space (and see 11.34). If there are
non-friendly units in that Space, the transported force must
conduct an Amphibious Attack (unless the transport force consists
of no Land Units—only a Garrison, for example—in
which case it is eliminated). The transported Land units may
continue moving and may even conduct other Naval Transport
missions in the same Activation, if they have the MP to
do so. They may even conduct another Naval Transport mission
using the stopped Galley Squadrons (if any were in the
Fleet) as escorts (thereby allowing those GS to move more
than once in the Activation).

As for naval movement itself being stopped on an NTP, they're not just stopped, they're Finished. I.e., they have to wait until next activation to move (unless of course they don't have any more activations that turn, in which case they're sunk).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Weirich
United States
Tucson
Arizona
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
nrandall wrote:
As for naval movement itself being stopped on an NTP, they're not just stopped, they're Finished. I.e., they have to wait until next activation to move (unless of course they don't have any more activations that turn, in which case they're sunk).


Thanks to both for the info. I had thought I had read that somewhere, but when I tried looking for it again I couldn't find it.

So if naval movement is finished if they are stopped on an NTP, what happens if a naval transport is stopped? Are they finished, or do they just have to spend 1 MP to continue sailing?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Neil Randall
Canada
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmb
They're finished if they stop on an NTP. A naval transport fleet is simply a fleet for naval movement purposes, but they're an army for land movement purposes. So as a fleet, if they get stopped anywhere, they're finished if they don't succeed at their continuation roll - but if they get stopped on a land space and fail continuation, they can't move further as a fleet, but they can debark and continue moving by land (which might include another naval transport mission).

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.