Vincent
United States
San Ramon
CA
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmb
Today's FFG rant had some details about the new edition:

Second up is Cave Troll: Second Edition. We just wrapped up work on this project and besides being gorgeous and a lot of fun, this game provides an amazing value for your gaming dollar. Not only do you get a beautiful new game board, cards and over 60 plastic figures, but you also get two games in one. You can either play with the original game characters or decide to play the alternate game with brand new hero and monster abilities.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gary Pressler
United States
West Lafayette
Indiana
flag msg tools
designer
OMG! Overtext! How long have I been sleeping?! OVERTEXT! Also, I'm a DESIGNER now?! Sweet! OVERTEXXXXXXT!
badge
HO HO HO! Give me some money!
mbmbmbmbmb
I am a big fan of the the original, so I have been curious what the 2nd edition would bring. I'm all for an alternate map on the flip side. (That was not mentioned, and is probably not the case, but it was an early guess as to what might be added.) A few optional characters would be interesting, perhaps a unique hero or two per team.

Still, I'm at a loss why this needs plastic minis. The original tokens had some great art, if small. (I think they just needed to trim the border a bit more.) The character draw is random. Thus, instead of simply drawing and playing tokens, one will need to draw a card to determine which mini to play. That seems like overkill for a pleasantly short, very playable area-control game with fun, dungeon crawl thematics. I also fear that the minis will make it more difficult to see the board. The tokens allowed quick observation of the state of the game.