Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Carnac» Forums » Rules

Subject: Effect of skipping to turn the last stone rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Morten K
Denmark
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
I had a game the other night where I placed my last stone in such a way that my opponent did not want to turn it down to be able to make her own last move. But since I had no more stones myself I couldn't place a new one obviously. Was my opponent then allowed to place hers afterwards?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Johannes Wentu
Italy
Parma
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Tigrillo

thank You for your question.
Honestly i am not sure i understand what you mean by "I had no more stones myself" and "my opponent... hers". It seems like you divided the 28 Menhirs 14 for you and 14 for your opponent. This is not correct.
All the 28 Menhirs are in common so if you don't have any more Menhirs, your opponent also doesn't have any more Menhirs because Menhirs are finished for both of you.

The situation that usually happens is:
- a player places the last Menhir
- his/her opponent doesn't want to topple it
- he/she leaves the Menhir standing and "skips the turn"
- the game ends since there are no more Menhirs

The other possible (and less usual) scenario for the last move is:
- a player places the last Menhir
- his/her opponent topples it
- the game ends since there are no more Menhirs


Let me know if this answers your question

have fun

Wentu
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Morten K
Denmark
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
Ahh yes of course. Had she not decided to topple the penultimate menhir, it would have been my turn again. Forgot about not having 14 stones each but sharing the whole pool. Thanks for the reply

I love the game btw. Hopefully, it'll soon see wider distribution too!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Grider
United States
Minneapolis
Minnesota
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Wouldn't it also be possible for the game to end with the scenario where:
- a player places the last Menhir
- their opponent cannot topple it
- the game ends since there are no more Menhirs
...?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Johannes Wentu
Italy
Parma
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
yep, this is another possible ending
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Morten K
Denmark
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
Would they have to topple the menhir? Isn't it possible to leave it standing?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Johannes Wentu
Italy
Parma
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1)if the last menhir is placed where it is physically possible to topple it then it is possible but not compulsory to topple it. After the opponent's decision and possibly after his/her move, the game ends.
2)the last menhir can be placed where it is not physically possible to topple it. After this, the game ends.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.