Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Ascension: Storm of Souls» Forums » Rules

Subject: Unite, in an event trophy situation rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Regis K.
France
Niederbronn
Alsace
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi,

Recently felt into the Android App. Great ! By the way, great prices since a few days...
After something like 50 games with different extensions, i came across my first unexplained situtation tonight.
Here it is :

- Current event : Great Eclipse with the event trophy "Name a Hero. That Hero is also lifebound this turn" (you can see it here : http://boardgamegeek.com/image/1727723/ascension-immortal-he...).
- I play a random Void Hero (can't remember which one)
- I play the Spider Witch, which has a Unite : "Draw a soul Gem".
- Later, i defeat a Fanatic, and use him => The great eclipse event Trophy triggers and i choose to name the random Void Hero i previously played => He becomes a lifebound Hero for the end of the turn.

I was expecting to then get the Unite ability from my previously played Witch Spider (and draw a Soul Gem), but the android App was not thinking the same.

So, what do you think about that ?

----------------- Same text in french below

Salut,

Je suis un petit peu tombé dans Ascension grâce à l'appli Android (grosses promos en ce moment d'ailleurs) et après une partie ce soir, je me pose une petit question liée au concept de "Réunion" (unite, en anglais).

1. J'ai relu les règles de mes copies physiques de Ames déchainées VF et Héros immortels VF, et ben, c'est assez fou, mais je n'y ai pas trouvé le terme Réunion une seule fois (ce qui ne veut pas forcément dire qu'il n'y est pas).

2. La situation qui m'a interrogé ce soir est la suivante.
- C'est mon tour.
- Evénement en cours : la grande éclipse avec Trophée d'evt => donnez le nom d'un héros. Ce héros est lié à la vie durant ce tour.
- Je joue différentes cartes qui me rapporte points de combat et runes
- Je joue un Héros du Néant de petite valeur.
- Je joue un Héros lié à la vie "Sorcière araignée" (+ 2 Victoires; Réunion : gagnez une gemme d'âme)
- Un peu plus tard, je bats un fanatique et le bannis => Bref, je réclame le trophée d'evt en cours (voir plus haut) et je nomme mon héros du Néant qui devient lié à la vie.

Est-ce qu'à ce moment là, je ne devrais pas récupérer l'effet de Réunion de ma sorcière Araignée ?

D'après l'application Android, non.
D'après ma compréhension des règles, oui.

Bref, j'en suis venu à m'interroger sur la temporisation de ces effets de réunion; d'où ma consultation des règles VF et ma surprises de n'y rien trouver (même pas le terme Réunion).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
At the time you played that random v/h (my shorthand for Void Hero). It wasn't a l/h. Obviously in terms of the software, it doesn't go back and check that random v/h is now also a l/h. Procedurally, I guess this works the same way. This way, there's no memory aspect to keep track of.


ubiq1er wrote:
Hi,

Recently felt into the Android App. Great ! By the way, great prices since a few days...
After something like 50 games with different extensions, i came across my first unexplained situtation tonight.
Here it is :

- Current event : Great Eclipse with the event trophy "Name a Hero. That Hero is also lifebound this turn" (you can see it here : http://boardgamegeek.com/image/1727723/ascension-immortal-he...).
- I play a random Void Hero (can't remember which one)
- I play the Spider Witch, which has a Unite : "Draw a soul Gem".
- Later, i defeat a Fanatic, and use him => The great eclipse event Trophy triggers and i choose to name the random Void Hero i previously played => He becomes a lifebound Hero for the end of the turn.

I was expecting to then get the Unite ability from my previously played Witch Spider (and draw a Soul Gem), but the android App was not thinking the same.

So, what do you think about that ?

----------------- Same text in french below

Salut,

Je suis un petit peu tombé dans Ascension grâce à l'appli Android (grosses promos en ce moment d'ailleurs) et après une partie ce soir, je me pose une petit question liée au concept de "Réunion" (unite, en anglais).

1. J'ai relu les règles de mes copies physiques de Ames déchainées VF et Héros immortels VF, et ben, c'est assez fou, mais je n'y ai pas trouvé le terme Réunion une seule fois (ce qui ne veut pas forcément dire qu'il n'y est pas).

2. La situation qui m'a interrogé ce soir est la suivante.
- C'est mon tour.
- Evénement en cours : la grande éclipse avec Trophée d'evt => donnez le nom d'un héros. Ce héros est lié à la vie durant ce tour.
- Je joue différentes cartes qui me rapporte points de combat et runes
- Je joue un Héros du Néant de petite valeur.
- Je joue un Héros lié à la vie "Sorcière araignée" (+ 2 Victoires; Réunion : gagnez une gemme d'âme)
- Un peu plus tard, je bats un fanatique et le bannis => Bref, je réclame le trophée d'evt en cours (voir plus haut) et je nomme mon héros du Néant qui devient lié à la vie.

Est-ce qu'à ce moment là, je ne devrais pas récupérer l'effet de Réunion de ma sorcière Araignée ?

D'après l'application Android, non.
D'après ma compréhension des règles, oui.

Bref, j'en suis venu à m'interroger sur la temporisation de ces effets de réunion; d'où ma consultation des règles VF et ma surprises de n'y rien trouver (même pas le terme Réunion).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Regis K.
France
Niederbronn
Alsace
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks.
Yes, i guess this is pretty hard to code.
So, you do agree, with a physical copy of the game, i should have drawn a soul gem ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ubiq1er wrote:
Thanks.
Yes, i guess this is pretty hard to code.
So, you do agree, with a physical copy of the game, i should have drawn a soul gem ?
On the contrary, I do NOT think you should've gotten a Soul Gem in the boxed version either.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Regis K.
France
Niederbronn
Alsace
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So, to make it short, the Unite conditions are checked only at the moment where the cards are played from the hand, not afterwards.
Is that somewhere in the rules ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ubiq1er wrote:
So, to make it short, the Unite conditions are checked only at the moment where the cards are played from the hand, not afterwards.
Is that somewhere in the rules ?
Sort of... in the Asc. SoS FAQ at the back of the rulebook...
If Ogo Rising flips in the middle of my turn, does it apply its effects to the first Hero I played that turn?

No. Ogo Rising will apply its effect (making the next H you play Lifebound) to the first H it "sees". After Ogo Rising becomes the curr event, the next H you play with bee Lifebound (in addition to any of its other factions).

This illustrates that it doesn't "backtrack"

.

Ditto with Void Rising... if you defeat a monster in the CR, then Void Rising appears, you do NOT get extra Honor from it. OTOH, if you defeat a monster in the CR with Void Rising in play, and that event goes away, you DO get the extra honor since it was that event at the time you defeated the monster.

Again, no "backtracking"
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Selwyn Hope
Australia
Cannington
WA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In the newest expansion Multi-Unite DOES backtrack. Meaning once a card with multi-unite is played it will fire on all the cards currently played AS WELL AS all cards played after.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Cesspit wrote:
In the newest expansion Multi-Unite DOES backtrack. Meaning once a card with multi-unite is played it will fire on all the cards currently played AS WELL AS all cards played after.

Still the same difference... you play something like a HI, kill a monster in CR, and Ogo Rising comes out. Then you play a l/h with a Multi-Unite effect. I don't think that HI you played will add to the Multi-Unite since it doesn't check for l/h after Ogo Rising just comes out.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.