Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Yardmaster» Forums » Rules

Subject: Yardmaster role token question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mark Erhardt
United States
New Baltimore
Michigan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rule book states the following:

"After taking your turn, pass the Yardmaster Token to the player to your right, who places the token face up in front of his engine to assume the role of Yardmaster on his next turn."

The "his next turn" part is what I'm concerned about. Say the player to my left takes his third and final action and passes me the Yardmaster Token. It is now my turn. Do I get to use it this turn or my "next turn"?

If I get to use it immediately then basically everyone will have it on their turn and everyone will get three actions. If so, why even have a clunky token passing mechanic. Why not simply state in the rules that everyone gets three actions except the first player of the first round?

Thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Combs
United States
Spring Lake Park
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If it's your turn and you have the Yardmaster token, you take 3 actions. Then you pass the token to the player on your RIGHT, and it is now the player on you LEFT's turn. The token moves in the opposite direction from turn order.

So in a 3 player games the turns would goes as such:
Player 1
Player 2
Player 3 - Yardmaster, pass to player 2 on right
Player 1
Player 2 - Yardmaster, pass to player 1 on right
Player 3
Player 1 - Yardmaster, pass to player 3 on right
Player 2
Player 3 - Yardmaster, pass to player 2 on right
Etc.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Erhardt
United States
New Baltimore
Michigan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ahhh I see now! Thanks! Much appreciated!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
C. J. Robinson
United States
Kalamazoo
Michigan
flag msg tools
In a 2 player game a player must hold the Yardmaster token for a turn before using it, but my question is whether the player who initially receives the token may use it on their first turn (token is face-up) or must wait until his or her second turn (flip token face-up after taking first turn). The rule book seems to indicate the former, but the latter seems more in keeping with the two-player method of play.

In other words, which is the correct sequence of play for 2 players:
P1: receive and play YM token
P2: receive YM token
P1:
P2: flip and play YM
P1: receive YM
P2:
P1: flip and play YM
P2: receive YM

Or, is it:
P1: receive YM token
P2:
P1: flip and play YM
P2: receive YM token
P1:
P2: flip and Play YM
P1: receive YM token
P2:

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jimmy Hensel
United States
Bryan
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Have games, Will travel
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Palladin wrote:
In a 2 player game a player must hold the Yardmaster token for a turn before using it, but my question is whether the player who receives the token may use it on their first turn (token is face-up) or must wait until his or her second turn (flip token face-up after taking first turn).

In other words, which is the correct sequence of play for 2 players:
P1: receive and play YM token
P2: receive YM token
P1:
P2: flip and play YM
P1: receive YM
P2:
P1: flip and play YM
P2: receive YM

Or, is it:
P1: receive YM token
P2:
P1: flip and play YM
P2: receive YM token
P1:
P2: flip and Play YM
P1: receive YM token
P2:




My understanding is that the player receives the token on one turn then flips and plays it on his next turn. So that would make your second sequence correct in my view.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Thorp
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It makes more sense if you actually include all the actions of a play. Passing and flipping takes place *after* a player has taken their actions. Player 2 starts with the YM token:

P1: Play 2 actions
P2: Play 3 actions, passes the YM token to player 1 (flipped to inactive)
P1: Play 2 actions, then flip YM token
P2: Play 2 actions
P1: Play 3 actions, passes the YM token to player 2 (flipped to inactive)
P2: Play 2 actions, then flip YM token
P1: Play 2 actions
P2: Play 3 actions, passes the YM token to player 1 (flipped to inactive)
P1: Play 2 actions, then flip YM token
P2: Play 2 actions
P1: Play 3 actions, passes the YM token to player 2 (flipped to inactive)
P2: Play 2 actions, then flip YM token
etc
etc

Rahdo shows this reasonably well in his playthrough, IIRC.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Speicher
United States
Potomac Falls
VIRGINIA
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
anyone else having troubles remembering taking the 3 actions? I'm curious how it plays by just taking the normal 2 actions without this guy passing around?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.