Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Star Wars: Imperial Assault» Forums » Rules

Subject: SIde Missions... 1 character or the whole party? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jason Ritz
United States
Kelseyville
CA
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I am trying to find somewhere in the rules that would clarify this. My confusion comes from our first time using one... Temptation. All the wording in the campaign booklet makes it seem like she is off doing this herself.

So are the side missions just for one character or do all their friends come along?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris J Davis
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Overtext pending moderation...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Everyone plays. It would be pretty boring for the other players if not.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
JH
United States
Albany
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Some of the side missions are tied to particular characters -- you'll only play them if that character is in your party, because they tell a story about that character (like one of the character-specific sidequests in, say, Knights of the Old Republic). But everyone plays them.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Ritz
United States
Kelseyville
CA
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah, we just played one with a party of three and it's a good thing they came along.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Erik Carlson
United States
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
There is one side mission involving the jedi girl, Diala. It makes sense why everyone is involved. You want your teammate, your friend, to be successful in their journey. You come along as moral support. However, only she
Spoiler (click to reveal)
can overcome the nightmare visions of her master's death and the person whom may have killed him. That is why she is the only one allowed in the tomb of her master (if I recall that is how the scenario went)
.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jo Bartok
Germany
Zwingenberg
Hessen
flag msg tools
Interaction leads to Immersion.
badge
Immersion leads to Fun.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
as far as I remeber only she csn open the door, see the campaing map naming/legend.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nic Resio
msg tools
Up above it says that you will only play side missions if that hero is in your party. So if that side mission card comes up with a hero that's not in your party do you just put that side mission card back up and choose a different side mission? Or can you have one player switch his hero to that character for that mission and then back afterwards?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris J Davis
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Overtext pending moderation...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
nicre510 wrote:
Up above it says that you will only play side missions if that hero is in your party. So if that side mission card comes up with a hero that's not in your party do you just put that side mission card back up and choose a different side mission? Or can you have one player switch his hero to that character for that mission and then back afterwards?


The side missions deck should only have hero missions in it that correspond to the heroes in the game. You create the side missions deck in this way at the start of the campaign.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The Side Mission deck construction rules are provided in the Missions section of the RRG under the sub-heading, "Building the Side Mission Deck".

A correct deck has 4 green cards (chosen by the heroes, but we only have 4 total at the moment), 4 grey cards (chosen randomly, there are currently 5 of these), and between 2 and 4 red cards (one for each hero in the Campaign).

If you are playing a Campaign with different people/heroes in each session, you should reconstruct the Side Mission deck whenever the heroes change (you will also need to come up with a house rule to handle the situation when one of the Active Side Missions becomes obsolete due to that hero's player not being present).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.