Subject: Review after my first play rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Blake Morris
United States
Henrico
Virginia
flag msg tools
This size viola da gamba is like a cello with frets. I started playing at age 48.
mbmbmbmbmb
This is my first review on the Geek, and I do not undertake it lightly (but please be kind!). While it may sound presumptuous to review Three Kingdoms Redux after only one play, I studied the rulebook thoroughly before I attempted to teach the game. A few small questions came up during the game, but most of them were easily answered in the rules. I am writing this review because I expect Three Kingdoms Redux to hit my top 10 fairly quickly, and I believe it needs more exposure. It plays exactly 3 players; there is neither a solitaire nor a 2-player version. Also, if you acquire your copy "soon enough" there will be included a (limited edition) full-color booklet with all the generals' artwork and the history or legend of each.

I will not be incorporating any images into this review, since the designers have posted most of the art in a geeklist. Note that there is also an excellent long review in the podcast section by Heavy Cardboard, to which I shall refer later.

Components: The quality of this production is apparent from the first glance. The front cover of the box has an air of mystery, with no visible faces among the characters depicted. The back of the box gives an enticing description of gameplay and shows the game board. The tokens representing generals, resources, food, gold, etc. are of hefty cardboard and punch out easily. There are five decks of sturdy cards, one deck for each of the Three Kingdoms (Wei, Wu, and Shu) and two state-building decks (Separation and Unification). The sleeves used for 7 Wonders fit all these cards. The board is a large 6-fold of serious thickness.