Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

War of the Ring (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: There and Back Again rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Alan Richbourg
United States
Arlington
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
This is Kyoshi, our adopted Shiba Inu.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This came up in a recent game, and I'd just like to verify. Does the political effect of "There and Back Again" still occur if the region Gimli and/or Legolas occupy is controlled by the Shadow? For example, if Legolas is still in the Fellowship and Gimli arrives in Shadow-controlled Dale?

Is this related to the FAQ entry "The term "Free Peoples City/Stronghold/ Settlement" (or "Shadow City/Stronghold/ Settlement") is used, on Character and Event cards, to refer to any City/Stronghold/Settlement originally belonging to the Free Peoples (or Shadow) player, regardless of which player currently controls it (unless control is explicitly mentioned)."? Would it apply similarly to all cards mentioned in https://boardgamegeek.com/article/6733007#6733007 ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Itamar Parann
Israel
Ramat Gan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
While There and Back Again requires Gimli or Legolas to be at specific places, it does not require those places to be free. So in my opinion the card's effect can be used under such conditions.

[Note that in the Mirror of Galadriel, the card specifically states Lorien must be controlled by FP for corruption to be healed].

Of course, if Erebor or Woodland Realms are under siege, companions cannot enter those regions and thus cannot activate the card in such areas [but this is per the normal movement rule for companions].

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alan Richbourg
United States
Arlington
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
This is Kyoshi, our adopted Shiba Inu.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Paramar wrote:
if Erebor or Woodland Realms is under siege, companions cannot enter those regions and thus cannot activate the card in such areas.

True that companions cannot enter those regions during play of There and Back Again, but if one were there before the card was played, it could still accomplish the political activity as part of the play of the card.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Itamar Parann
Israel
Ramat Gan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That is my thought as well.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
On page 32, the rules state that "A captured City, Town or Stronghold cannot be used for mustering troops or advancing the Political Track." Since this rule is not specifically broken by There and Back Again, it should still be considered to be in force, so such a Settlement cannot be used to satisfy the conditions of the card.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alan Richbourg
United States
Arlington
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
This is Kyoshi, our adopted Shiba Inu.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks Kevin. Since There and Back Again could also activate the Dwarves, perhaps instead of "advancing the Political Track" that rule should say "changing the Political Track".
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.