Jo Bartok
Germany
Zwingenberg
Hessen
flag msg tools
Interaction leads to Immersion.
badge
Immersion leads to Fun.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi guys,

first of all. Here is the current link to the current FAQ:

https://images-cdn.fantasyflightgames.com/filer_public/06/8d...
Found on this page: https://fantasyflightgames.com/en/products/star-wars-imperia...

So I'd like to start a thread where you do following.

If you know about an issue that is possibly unresolved by the rules, where the rules are not clear or imprecise, or even where the theme and name of a card (e.g. its intention, mind you) does not play out like that, I want to you:

How to post

1. Name in one short sentence the issue (no long paragraphs)
2. Link to the thread where that issue has been discussed

Please specify the RRG version (in case it gets updated in form of a PDF or a new print run). For the initial print run use LTP (init) or RRG (init) or SG (init)

How to not post
Please don't start discussions in this thread.
Please don't ask questions in this thread.
Please remove obsolete posts and issues.
Please don't edit posts to add open issues but add new posts so that it is easy to follow-up.

If something refers to the skirmish guide or the skirmish game please, ONLY, add a prefix like [Skirmish].

I just hope we can collect the open points.

What to post
Legit IMHO would be:
- Stuff that isn't defined
- Stuff that is unclear or imprecise
- Stuff that is being asked again and again and thus should be pointed out despite that it might be somewhere deep in the RRG
- Stuff looks like a duck but walks like a weasel.

Don't post if you think its not worth it. Keep it clean
If you are uncertain, open a new thread and discuss the matter there. If there is no great consensus that something has been cleared up, feel free to add it as a post here.

Legend
- RRG = Rules Reference Guide
- LTPG, LtP or LPG = Learn To Play Guide
- SG = Skrimish Guide
10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rule that spaces on either side of a door are not adjacent is only in the LtP, not the RRG.

Link: Spaces on each side of door are adjacent????


The rule that you can't trade Class cards (hence starting weapons) is only in the LtP, not the RRG.

Link: Selling starting class items?


It is unclear whether the movement space granted by Jyn's Opportunist ability is mandatory.

Link: Question about opportunist (Jyn's special ability)


Edit: All the above were solved with the FAQ
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephan Wimmer
Austria
Vienna
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Moved the reply to the linked thread.
http://boardgamegeek.com/article/17861996#17861996
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I've edited some links into my post as I was able to find them. I suggest in future that if a link has been left out by someone, but we wish to discuss further, then create a new thread so we don't clutter this one.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jo Bartok
Germany
Zwingenberg
Hessen
flag msg tools
Interaction leads to Immersion.
badge
Immersion leads to Fun.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
(init) LTP does hint to purchase items/agenda cards before spending XP (or hints at no order at all). RRG specifies to spend XP first.

Link: http://boardgamegeek.com/article/17864435#17864435

--

(init) It is not entirely clear if Mak's Target Acquired tracing LOS carries over into No Escape.

(init) It is not entirely clear that if that tracing LOS does NOT carry over, if then No Escape would still yield a (then non used) focus condition.


Link: http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1284761/mak-sniper-target-aq...

Official via Justin Kemppainen: "Target Acquired specifically states, “During this attack…” Since No Escape provides a completely different and separate attack, it doesn’t keep the bonus from Target Acquired."

--

(init) It is not entirely precise when Mak's Disengage ability may be used.

Link: http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1289664/how-use-mak-eshareys...

Cleared in FAQ 1.0.1

--

(init) By rules as written it is not entirely clear if you can start a movement without a declarable/declared intention to end it legally.

Link: http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1292055/movement-question

--

(init) Rules don't cover adjacency to your own space (for attacks such as attacking a terminal you stand on)?

Link: http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1287983/cant-figure-terminal...
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Does 'Move spaces up to your Speed' such as used in Gaarkhan's Charge follow the 'Move X Spaces' rules that avoid additional movement points?

Link: Gaarkhan's Charge: Is it intended to ignore additional movement costs?


Large figure movement: When your new position overlaps your previous position, do you enter and exit all the spaces or just enter the new ones and exit the old ones?

Link: Unclear of a large figure rule


When you use Jyn's Class Card ability that draws an additional Item card in the Rebel Upgrade Stage, how do you handle the multi-tier stages? A single card from a deck of your choice? If so, do you make this choice before or after seeing other cards?

Link: Re: Some Questions


Edit: All the above were solved with the FAQ
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jo Bartok
Germany
Zwingenberg
Hessen
flag msg tools
Interaction leads to Immersion.
badge
Immersion leads to Fun.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
(init) Rules for doors are rather complex and spread though the RGG (not all rules relevant to doors are to be found under "Doors"):

Link: http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1271502/shooting-door-throug...
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules forbid using Reach attacks against Objects. Was this intended?

Link: We can't use Reach to attack Objects after all... (although now we can due to the FAQ)


Edit: The above was solved with the FAQ
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Here's one for the question just getting asked too much category:

Many people seem to think that the Legendary and Heroic health boosts might not count when Wounded. Some clarification that they count for both sides may be needed.
Link: Many places, but one example is: Do legendary characters get +10 health when wounded?


Addressed in the FAQ
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The timing of Blast and Cleave happening after Attacks are resolved are mentioned on the Reference Card, but not in the Blast and Cleave sections of the RRG.

Link: Blast and Royal Guard Champion Interrupt
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If a Massive figure is on a space of Blocking Terrain, can you target that space of the figure? Mobile figures have a rule that allows it, but Massive figures do not in the rules.

Link: Can you melee an adjacent Massive figure stopped on Blocking Terrain like you can a Mobile one?


Addressed in the FAQ
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
An RRG omission
The RRG fails to mention the timing of when you remove dice from the dice pool for attacks.

Link: Defense Pool
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In Skirmish, can you play a 'Use at start of round' effect Command Card as a reaction to a different start-of-round Command Card, or must you decide all the cards that both players wish to play with this timing, then reveal them all? E.g., Can you play Take Initiative immediately after the other player plays Take Initiative?

Link: Skirmish Game Question


Above is addressed in the FAQ
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Urgency's movement points must be spent immediately according to the rules. Was this intended?

Link: Command Card: Urgency. The points gained must be spent immediately?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Where do sold Items go? The RRG says the box while the LtP says to shuffle them back into the deck. Which is right?

Link: 6 Cards from Item desk 1 & 2
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
How do multiple reroll abilities work? Must all be declared and then rolled, or can you react to one reroll ability with a different reroll ability targeting a different die?

Link: Timing for reroll?


FAQ effectively answers this with the Take Initiative question.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Mission specific query about Luxury Cruise:

Spoiler (click to reveal)
Luxury Cruise states that doors are locked to all 'heroes', which would mean Rebel allies can open the doors normally. Is this correct, or should the doors be locked to Rebel figures instead?

Link: Doors are locked to heroes...What about Imperials?


Above is addressed in the FAQ
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
How does Cleave work with Diala's Dancing Weapon and Way of the Sarlaac abilities? Can you Cleave a unit at a distance with DW? WotS only attacks adjacent figures, but can you Cleave with Reach during a WotS attack?

Link: Diala's Way of Sarlacc + reach weapon
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
How does Cleave interact with Ranged attacks? E.g, Ferocity allows Gaarkhan to make an attack with Cleave using a Ranged weapon. Rules say any figure that is a valid target can be hit by the Cleave, so does that mean you can choose any hostile figure within Line of Sight regardless of Accuracy?

Link: Re: weapons and heroes
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If you have two abilities that reroll a die in an attribute test, can they be used on the same die?

Link: Reroll a Reroll, when it's not an Attack roll?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just went and struck out all the questions above that were answered in the FAQ
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can an Ally choose to suffer strain, such as from the choice of the Imperial Class card, Prey Upon Doubt?

Thread: Prey on Doubt Question
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Is it really meant to be impossible to include both green side missions that reward Rebel Saboteurs in a side mission deck?

Link: So, is it impossible to get the Elite Rebel Sabs in the campaign?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls