Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

The Conquerors: Alexander the Great» Forums » Rules

Subject: Control - confusion rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nigel Buckle
United Kingdom
Thornton Heath
Croydon
flag msg tools
designer
NSKN are publishing my next game :)
badge
Omega Centauri Published in 2014
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Played once, bit confused about 'control' in this game

Rulebook (6.2) gives definition of Provincial Control as:
Quote:
1. He is the sole Player to have an Army or Garrison in that
province.
2. He is the sole Player to have a Fleet in a Port of that province,
and there are no enemy Armies or Garrisons in the province.
Fleets do not allow you to place a garrison.


But under setup 3j lists all the provinces each side starts the game controlling.

Does this mean that you have to use the Armies or Garrisons or Fleets to control these starting provinces, or you control them until they are taken by the opponent (or revolt). If it's the latter do they come back into your control if your opponent removes the Army, Garrison or Fleet? Or does control rest with the last player to occupy the area or something else?

Control seems on 2 levels as LOC uses control too - rules say:
Quote:
Provincial control is necessary for:
• Victory (Macedonian Player)
• Replenishing Treasuries (both Players)
• Raising ASPs (both Players).


But LOC (7.3) indicates you can control a space in an uncontrolled province. So there is control for LOC determination and Provincial control (I think ...)

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard H. Berg
United States
South Carolina
flag msg tools
Avatar
"Does this mean that you have to use the Armies or Garrisons or Fleets to control these starting provinces, or you control them until they are taken by the opponent (or revolt)."

Provinces controlled at the start remain so until the otherp layer satisfies the two provisions of 6.2. Such will immediately change control status.

And there are two types of Control (somethign we shoulkd ahev noted with a Play Note):

Political Control, which is use for the 3 items listed at the beginnign of 6.2 and is effected by the 2 factors below that list.

Physical control: Used mostly for blocking LOC . . .and this requires a physical presence in thge Space, regardless hwo (politically) controls the province the Space is in.

Hopefully that clarifies your confusion.

RHB
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nigel Buckle
United Kingdom
Thornton Heath
Croydon
flag msg tools
designer
NSKN are publishing my next game :)
badge
Omega Centauri Published in 2014
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
BergBROG wrote:
"Does this mean that you have to use the Armies or Garrisons or Fleets to control these starting provinces, or you control them until they are taken by the opponent (or revolt)."

Provinces controlled at the start remain so until the otherp layer satisfies the two provisions of 6.2. Such will immediately change control status.

And there are two types of Control (somethign we shoulkd ahev noted with a Play Note):

Political Control, which is use for the 3 items listed at the beginnign of 6.2 and is effected by the 2 factors below that list.

Physical control: Used mostly for blocking LOC . . .and this requires a physical presence in thge Space, regardless hwo (politically) controls the province the Space is in.

Hopefully that clarifies your confusion.

RHB


I think so.

You control a Province (Politically) until you lose it - no need to garrison etc. Once you lose it you can regain it using either of the conditions in 6.2. Then you don't have to leave a Garrison to keep control, but if you don't then you could lose it again simply by your opponent moving through the area.

First game we played we didn't understand that and had lots of 1 strength garrisons to retain ownership (which just got overrun).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.