Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Pandemic: The Cure» Forums » Rules

Subject: Once cured do dice still go to treatment center? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Patrick Aland
United States
Maitland
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Subject says it all - once you cure a disease the next time you use a syringe on that disease on a region does it still have to go to the treatment center or does it go straight back into the bag?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Gameson
United Kingdom
Worcestershire
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
paland wrote:
Subject says it all - once you cure a disease the next time you use a syringe on that disease on a region does it still have to go to the treatment center or does it go straight back into the bag?


They still go to the treatment centre, but having the cure allows you to move all the dice of the cured colour for only one syringe. From Pg 5 of the rules:

P.tC Pg 5 wrote:
Important: when you treat an Infection die of a disease with a known cure, instead of moving 1 Infection die, move all Infection dice of that color from either your region or the Treatment Center.


8 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick Aland
United States
Maitland
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Thanks - I read that but for some reason it just didn't click in my head.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Gameson
United Kingdom
Worcestershire
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
My pleasure
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bill Eldard
United States
Burke
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
TheOneEared wrote:
[q="paland"]Subject says it all - once you cure a disease the next time you use a syringe on that disease on a region does it still have to go to the treatment center or does it go straight back into the bag?


They still go to the treatment centre, but having the cure allows you to move all the dice of the cured colour for only one syringe. From Pg 5 of the rules:

P.tC Pg 5] Important: when you treat an Infection die of a disease with a known cure, instead of moving 1 Infection die, move all Infection dice of that color from either your region or the Treatment Center.[/q wrote:




Likewise, with 1 syringe, all the dice of a single cured disease in the Treatment Center can be returned to the bag.

This is important for two reasons:

1) By returning them to the bag, it decreases the likelihood of drawing uncured dice from the bag for placement in the regions. As noted, cured dice are far easier to police up than uncured, so it's better to have them out than the uncured. Moreover, it reduces the likelihood of outbreaks.

2) If there are not enough dice in the bag to meet the number required to draw, the game is over and the team loses. Replenishing the dice to the bag is important to stave off defeat.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.