Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Samurai Battles: Ninja Attack» Forums » General

Subject: Bows, what am I missing!? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
"GAME OVER, MAN. GAME OVER!"
Denmark
Aarhus
Unwashed and somewhat slightly dazed...
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
On the reference sheet, the samurai archers, foot and mounted, have their ranged attack dice as 3, reduced to 1 if they move. But it als says that they shoot 0-2-2.
I'm assuming the 0-2-2 thing is correct, but wondering if there's a situation I'm not thinking about, where it would be relevant that their ranged attack is 3...?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phill Webb
Australia
Melbourne
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
EDIT: Sorry, commented without reading properly. modest

I sounds like you're reading the range notation in reverse.

The 0 is the adjacent hex that they have to attack in melee.

Then the second hex is 2 dice and the 3rd hex is also 2 dice.


I see what you mean. Looks like a cut and paste typo to me. I'd play them as 3d.

Phill
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
"GAME OVER, MAN. GAME OVER!"
Denmark
Aarhus
Unwashed and somewhat slightly dazed...
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nope!
I'm reading it right, it just has two contradicting statements, one directly following the other...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
"GAME OVER, MAN. GAME OVER!"
Denmark
Aarhus
Unwashed and somewhat slightly dazed...
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Freeloading Phill wrote:
EDIT: Sorry, commented without reading properly. modest

I sounds like you're reading the range notation in reverse.

The 0 is the adjacent hex that they have to attack in melee.

Then the second hex is 2 dice and the 3rd hex is also 2 dice.


I see what you mean. Looks like a cut and paste typo to me. I'd play them as 3d.

Phill


No prob!
I'm thinking the other way around. I think they shoot 0-2-2, like the ashigaru bows, and the thing with 3 dice is a mistake, or something I've overlooked...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark McG
Australia
Penshurst
NSW
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hopefully this explains the Samurai Archers properly
http://ccsamuraibattles.net/units/121-sb-samurai-archers.htm...

I have to say I hadn't noticed the contradiction on the reference card previously, and I note it applies to both Mounted and Foot Samurai Archers.

Conceptually, it makes sense for Archers to use the same number of die in ranged combat regardless of Ashigaru or Samurai. Something worth a clarification.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark McG
Australia
Penshurst
NSW
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Text from the reference card, contradictions in bold

Samurai Infantry Bowmen
• Map ID Code:
• Standard Symbol: Square
• Figures in Unit: 4
• Movement: Move up to 1 hex and battle.
• Close Combat: 4 dice if unit did not move or when battle back, 3 dice if unit moved.
• When ordered by an Infantry Onslaught, per the card, range weapon units including
Samurai infantry bow units may not combat.
• Ranged Combat: 3 dice if unit did not move, 1 die if unit moved.
• A Samurai infantry bow unit has a range of 3 hexes:
(adjacent no ranged dice, this is close combat) (two hexes to target 2 dice) (three hexes to target 2 dice).
• Unit will collect Honor & Fortune in ranged combat.
• Morale: Ignore 1 fl ag.
• Retreat: Lose 2 Honor & Fortune tokens for each hex unit retreats.

Samurai Cavalry Bowmen
• Map ID Code:
• Standard Symbol: Square
• Figures in Unit: 4
• Movement: Move up to 2 hexes and battle.
• Close Combat: 4 dice if unit did not move or when battle back, 3 dice if unit moved.
• When ordered by a Cavalry Charge, a Samurai cavalry bow unit may only
move 2 hexes and will not combat with 1 additional die. The unit may still
bonus combat after a successful close combat.
• Ranged Combat: 3 dice if unit did not move, 1 die if unit moved.
• A Samurai cavalry bow unit has a range of 3 hexes:
(adjacent no ranged dice, this is close combat) (two hexes to target 2 dice) (three hexes to target 2 dice).
• Unit will collect Honor & Fortune in ranged combat.
• Morale: Ignore 1 fl ag.
• Retreat: Lose 2 Honor & Fortune tokens for each hex unit retreats..

Clearly contradictory, but which is correct (or where the error would have come in) isn't clear to me.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
"GAME OVER, MAN. GAME OVER!"
Denmark
Aarhus
Unwashed and somewhat slightly dazed...
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Super!
So in fact they are 0-3-3, unless they move, in which case they attack with just 1. Nice.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.