Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
16 Posts

Castles of Mad King Ludwig» Forums » Rules

Subject: Depleting a Room Stack? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mr. D
United States
Oneonta
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Hi -

In the rulebook, there are a couple of references to "depleting a room stack". (eg. Sleeping Room Completion Bonus after draw deck is depleted.)

However, I can't find in the rulebook any benefit/penalty for doing so. Am I missing something?

thanks,
-TR
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Hindmarch
United States
Denver
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Check final scoring -- 2 points per room in your castle per depleted stack.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris M
United States
Kearneysville
West Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Remember it also includes the corridor and stairs stacks.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron
United States
Matthews
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Move along nothing to see here. This is not the text you were looking for,
badge
I love scotch. Scotchy scotch scotch. Here it goes down, down into my belly.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I haven't played a lot, but does one have any control of whether or not a stack gets depleted. It seems like it is all up to the luck of the draw.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Hindmarch
United States
Denver
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Yes, by completing sleeping rooms.
3 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron
United States
Matthews
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Move along nothing to see here. This is not the text you were looking for,
badge
I love scotch. Scotchy scotch scotch. Here it goes down, down into my belly.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
MHindmarch wrote:
Yes, by completing sleeping rooms.


I see how that completion bonus works now. I guess we have not completed a Sleeping Room yet to understand how it plays out in the game.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mr. D
United States
Oneonta
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Tselin3369 wrote:
Remember it also includes the corridor and stairs stacks.


Do these count as separate stacks - hallway stack, stair stack - or as one combined stack?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Francisco
United States
Cumberland
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I believe that they are separate stacks.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mikko Saari
Finland
flag msg tools
http://www.lautapeliopas.fi/ - the best Finnish board game resource!
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Both kinds of hallways form a combined hallway stack, and stairs are a separate stack.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Harris
United States
Oxford
Oh
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
For example, last game I had bonus cards for 300 size rooms. Therefore I actively completed sleep rooms so that I could load the stack with 300 rooms and get an extra bonus once they were depleted.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bella
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can you use the Sleeping Room Completion Bonus to deplete the stairs or hallways? These are technically Corridor Rooms, so they could be included in the "rooms" described in the bonus. However, they are not normally available in the room card draw stack. In the Corridor Rooms description, it specifically says that they don't count for things like Small Room Bonus, etc, but I couldn't find anything specifically addressing this issue. We had it come up at the end of a game, where someone completed a Sleeping Room and wanted to deplete the stair pile, which had one remaining (since you DO get 2 points for each stairway if they are gone, just like all the other rooms!).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mikko Saari
Finland
flag msg tools
http://www.lautapeliopas.fi/ - the best Finnish board game resource!
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, you can't do that, because those rooms can't appear on the market.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
cobbs c
msg tools
mb
msaari wrote:
No, you can't do that, because those rooms can't appear on the market.

This. Pretty obvious. These rooms are in their own section for a reason.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bella
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Cobbs wrote:
msaari wrote:
No, you can't do that, because those rooms can't appear on the market.

This. Pretty obvious. These rooms are in their own section for a reason.


This was pointed out in the "However" part of the question's post...we were aware that it they don't normally appear on the market. The purpose of the question was to find out if they could in this case, or if they could at least be depleted at the end of the game (when they would not end up in the market). The designer agreed that it was not clearly (definitively) explained with simply "rooms" in the 1st edition, and added the words "(except stairs or hallways)" in the 2nd edition rulebook in the Sleeping Room bonus section.

(see 2nd edition rules thread with updates)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Waldrep
United States
Muscle Shoals
Alabama
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
DrDuck wrote:
I haven't played a lot, but does one have any control of whether or not a stack gets depleted. It seems like it is all up to the luck of the draw.


I know that you can control this slightly by completing sleeping rooms, but this is still my least favorite part of the scoring. My wife and I often just play without scoring those because we feel like it is mostly luck.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Hindmarch
United States
Denver
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Enjoy playing the Cats of Mad King Ludwig.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.