Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: painting [+] [View All]
Dan R
United States
ALBUQUERQUE
New Mexico
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I started painting my miniatures but I'm pretty novice I practices on a few reapers miniatures to get better at brush skills. What sealant is recommended for after using Army Paints with quick shade in order to prevent the paint from chipping any recommendations?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bobby Ramsey
United States
Grove City
OH
flag msg tools
badge
Hush
mbmbmbmbmb
Lots of people seem to like Testor's Dullcote. Nice protection while maintaining a nice matte finish.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan R
United States
ALBUQUERQUE
New Mexico
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks I'll try it out

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris M
United States
Kearneysville
West Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
In my experience, the quick shade does pretty good itself in protecting the actual paint. I just got back to painting in the past year so the quick shades are a welcome "new" product for me. It looks a lot like what we used to make with Future Floor Wax and inks back in the early 2000s

The Dullcote is for an extra layer of protection - but it really is there to get the glare down off the minis. Dullcote is not as durable as other "shiny" sealers.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher
United States
Unspecified
Connecticut
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I've been using future floor wax as a sealant for years with great success. I've tried several other methods and none offer the same level of protection. I dip the mini in future, dab off the excess, then after 24 hours do a second dip. 24 hours after that I hit it with a spray of Army Painter matte varnish to take the shine off. After that you can throw plastic minis against the wall with no paint damage.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Grey
United States
Los Angeles
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb