Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Shadows of Brimstone: City of the Ancients» Forums » Rules

Subject: Preacher adjacency question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
___Shetland pony___ ___extra pepperoni___
United Kingdom
Gloucestershire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Played the preacher for the 1st time today.
Our epic threat was Harbinger + void spiders.
The preacher was soon surrounded by the spiders, but wanted to use 'Smite' on the Harbinger at the back, ignoring the spiders.
We weren't sure if that contradicted the 'ranged hits must be assigned to adjacent enemy's first' rule on page 24?
Any help gratefully received!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Derek VDG
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The rule says:

If there are Enemies adjacent to you, you
must always assign and resolve Ranged Hits
against them first.


Note it says "Ranged Hits".

The Smite is not a "Ranged Hit". It is a Sermon, and as such is not subject to the adjacent enemy rule.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
___Shetland pony___ ___extra pepperoni___
United Kingdom
Gloucestershire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks Mr Dvang, yes this was our counter argument, we did play it how you say, after some debate. The doubt came because the sermon has a range and it does hit
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Derek VDG
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
A Ranged Hit is a result from a Ranged Attack action. Casting a sermon is not a Ranged Attack action. A preacher with a gun can, in fact, use both Smite and shoot with his shotgun (which is a Ranged Attack action), for example. So, despite having a range and causing "hits", a Smite is simply a sermon that has a range and whose effect causes hits, and it is not a "ranged attack" which causes "ranged hits".
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
___Shetland pony___ ___extra pepperoni___
United Kingdom
Gloucestershire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
cheers old bean thumbsup
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.