Recommend
8 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Lightning: North Africa» Forums » Rules

Subject: LNA Questions & Answers rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
(Mr.) Kim Beattie
United States
Rocklin
CA
flag msg tools
Embrace your inner geek!
badge
In Flanders fields the poppies blow Between the crosses, row on row, That mark our place; and in the sky The larks, still bravely singing, fly Scarce heard amid the guns below.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I asked the following questions over on ConsimWorld. Dan Verssen, the designer of Lightning North Africa provided the answers...

1. Movement - A force may move out of an enemy occupied area, correct? So an Allied Force in Tobruck could move west into Bengazhi and put Axis Forces in Tobruk OOS (assuming the Allies control Tobruk), correct?

Correct. Although in making the move from your example, it would also be putting itself OOS.

2. Out of Supply - A Force is considered OOS if an enemy Force is between the friendly force and the Friedly supply base. Is this true even if friendly forces are also present in the area where the Enemy Force cutting supply is present?

Yes.

3. Attacking Forces - Can all Forces present in an Area where a battle is declared participate in battle OR ONLY those forces that took the Attack option? (I think the rules say that the attacker selects the Forces that will participate in the attack, but the rules section about battles don't say that only those forces that took the Attack Option may attack... It seems obvious to me, but a rules lawyer/shark could make the argument that all forces in an area regardless of the option taken during the Action phase could attack...)

You're right. The only attacker forces that can participate in an attack are the ones that took the Attack Order.

4. Battle Plan selection - The rules here could use some clarification or at least a detailed example... Is the following interpretation correct:

A, the attacker plays a Battle Plan B. the defender may play the same Battle Plan. This cancels the Attackers Battle Plan. C. the attacker may now play the same Battle Plan again to cancel the defenders play.

According to the rules (as I read them) these three steps are repeated until the attacker chooses not to play additional Plans.

This means (to me, anyway) that the defender gets ONE chance to cancel an attackers plan and succeeds only if the Attacker does not play the Plan a second time.

Is this correct? OR is the defender allowed to repeatedly play counter plans until the attacker gives up and chooses to play no additional cards or play a new plan? (If this is the correct way to play, I suggest that the rules, as written, do not say this.)

The playing of cards can go back and forth. But once a card is played, by either player and not reacted to, it cannot be reacted to later in the battle.

For example: The Attacker plays an Overrun. The Defender plays an Overrun to cancel. The Attacker plays an Any and declares it to be an Overrun, cancelling the defender's Overrun. If the defender does not cancel the Any (Overrun) now, he cannot do it later in the battle.

Likewise, the defender could choose not to play a card in reaction to the Overrun, thereby giving up the option to cancel it this battle, and play a card to cancel the attacker's Armored or Motorized plans. The attacker would then be forced to immediately react, or lose that option.

-Dan Verssen

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
(Mr.) Kim Beattie
United States
Rocklin
CA
flag msg tools
Embrace your inner geek!
badge
In Flanders fields the poppies blow Between the crosses, row on row, That mark our place; and in the sky The larks, still bravely singing, fly Scarce heard amid the guns below.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
What follows is my re-interpretation of the "Order of Attack" card play based on the answers received from Dan Verssen:

The attacker plays a battle card, the Defender may cancel the Attacker's battle card by playing a battlecard with the same plan of attack as played by the attacker. The Attacker may then cancel the Defenders battle card by again playing a battle card with the same plan of attack. The defender may again play a card to cancel the attackers battle card and plan of attack. This "back and forth" or "action/reaction" continues until either player cannot or chooses not to play a canceling card. Secondary effects of canceled cards never take effect. Only the secondary effect of the last battle card played (and not canceled) take effect. The secondary effect takes effect as soon as it is determined that the battle card will not be canceled by the opposing player. All canceled cards are discarded. At the end of this sequence of card play the Attacker may have one plan of attack that can be used later in the phase to resolve combat.

Instead of playing a card to cancel the battle card (and plan of attack) played by the Attacker, the defender may play a battle card to cancel one of the "inherent" plans of attack (Armored or Motorized). In this case, the attackers battle card and plan of attack is not canceled (secondary effects take effect) and the attacker may play a card to counter the defenders attempt to cancel the "inherent" plan of attack. This may set off another "action/reaction" series of card plays.

Once this sequence of events is completed, the attacker may then play another battle card, starting another sequence of "action/reaction" card plays. The new battle card played by the Attacker may not duplicate a plan of attack that was played earlier and not canceled by the defender. (If an earlier plan of attack was canceled by the Defender, then the Attacker may try to play that plan of attack again.)

This entire sequence of action/reaction events continues until the Phasing player chooses not to try and add additional "plans of attack" to the battle. Play then contnues with the resolution of the battle.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Poole
United States
Goldsboro
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Udu Wudu
badge
Udu Wudu
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the clarifications; I was a little confused about the back and forth issue.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Mokszycki
United States
Snohomish
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If the attacker plays and Overrun, can the defender play both an Overrun AND an additional card (at the same time) to cancel one of the inherent attack plans?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.