Paul Liolio
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey guys (ramblings ahead)

I'm still new to playing board games as an adult (like many I thought there were exactly 5 board games, including Monopoly, and then somewhere at an extreme, Dungeons and Dragons). I started getting a craving to play board games again, and discovered ESCAPE the Curse of the Temple, and how much fun that is, and how sad my life must have been before that day of discovering a new world of board games.

I say this, because while I haven't played a lot of board games, I'm excited about designing one, though I haven't much experience in modern mechanics.

Right now, my game is sheerly conceptual, but one thing I do know, is that it needs to be fast paced, high energy, little down time.

In video games, like Mario Party, or Dokapon Kingdom, where players move about a game board, I've always thought, "this would be so much better if all players rolled their dice and moved at the same time.." The waiting game kills the fun (though no thanks in part to poorly chosen, mandatory, unskippable animations and text that occur after each turn and during events).

Long story short, I want all players to move about a grid based game board, probably without rolling a die, at the same time, in a player movement phase. The problem is, since it's mainly a competitive experience where players will want to initiate an attack on one another , sometimes by landing on another player's current spot, I feel like every one would need to commit to a movement decision and all move at once.. So how does one do that?

I'm still open to other quick movement systems.. Perhaps players take turns moving (results of the move will happen in the next phase after everyone has moved), and for the next movement turn, the player to move first is the next person around the table... OR, player movement order is, each time, swiftly determined by a quick die roll..

But anyway, let's assume I'm dead set on Simultaneous player movement.