Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Roll for the Galaxy» Forums » Rules

Subject: Alien Research Ship rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: Rules [+] Roll-for-the-Galaxy [+] [View All]
John Mellby
United States
Plano
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This development lets you "act as if you have an extra White and Yellow explorer".
Can I then reassign these virtual dice, or are they just fixed as extra explorers?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin C
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
My understanding is that these "virtual dice" only exist during phase I: Explore. If the phase isn't chosen, then they simply don't exist, and the game moves on; if it is, you have a phantom yellow explorer and a phantom white explorer to do your bidding.

Worse comes to worse, you have an extra $4 for Phase I.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Donny Behne
United States
Fate
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
www.punchboardmedia.com/geaux-gaming/
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Fixed for use in that phase only.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wei-Hwa Huang
United States
San Jose
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jmellby wrote:
This development lets you "act as if you have an extra White and Yellow explorer".
Can I then reassign these virtual dice, or are they just fixed as extra explorers?


From page 6 of the manual:

Quote:
Most developments grant a power once built, usable either during the Assign step, or in the phase(s) shown.


Alien Research Ship indicates that its power is usable only during the Explore phase, so you cannot reassign those dice, because dice cannot be reassigned during the Explore phase.
15 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Palframan
United States
Jupiter
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Why does it matter that one of them is yellow then?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
RafaƂ Kruczek
Poland
Legnica
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mpalframan wrote:
Why does it matter that one of them is yellow then?

This probaly olny matters when you have Alien Archeology faction tile (yellow explorer gives 4$ instead of 2$)
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Palframan
United States
Jupiter
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok, and to clarify further, even if you allocate zero dice to explore, and another player activates explore, you still get two explore actions?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian
United States
Nassau County
New York
flag msg tools
mpalframan wrote:
Ok, and to clarify further, even if you allocate zero dice to explore, and another player activates explore, you still get two explore actions?

Yes. Just like if you has assigned real dice.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.