Edward
United States
New York City
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When shuffled into the Event Deck and re-drawn, THE DOG IS BACK! reads:

"DECIDE: Discard [food] and get +1 [weapon] OR discard this card. Draw another card."

1) Am I right that this can only trigger if you have nonperishable food, or some other way of simulating nonperishable food (e.g., Barrel)?

2) If we have no food, can I choose to discard a food (taking a wound because of unfulfilled demand) in order to gain +1 weapon?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
S. R.
Germany
Mainz
Rheinland-Pfalz
flag msg tools
It's a fearful thing, to fall into the Hands of the Living God!
badge
Tell me, have you found the Yellow Sign?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can never discard something you don't have. Also, you cannot willingly take a wound to make up for something you don't have...

This leaves you with option 1) you mentioned. Sources for food:
- Starting Item "Biscuits" (or whatever it's called)
- Nonperishable Food
- Food stored in a Cellar
- Food stored in a Barrel
- Food stored in Boxes (they were for storage too, right?)
- Discovery Token "Goat" (you can slaughter it if you meet the prerequisites)
- Food created by the Skill of the Cook
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Edward
United States
New York City
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks. I assume that also means that if the snow comes, we can't choose to not consume our wood ("NO FIRE -- WE'RE SHIVERING TONIGHT, BOYS!") and take wounds from the snow instead?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
S. R.
Germany
Mainz
Rheinland-Pfalz
flag msg tools
It's a fearful thing, to fall into the Hands of the Living God!
badge
Tell me, have you found the Yellow Sign?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can never decide NOT to lose something, if it is demanded by an effect! You only take wounds if you CANNOT pay - not if you don't want to...
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.