Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Hammer of the Scots» Forums » Rules

Subject: Pillaging the last pip rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nathan Sinclair
Australia
Blue Mountains
N.S.W.
flag msg tools
If you pillage an enemy noble and it loses its last pip you get the noble. All straight forward enough.

But what if there are other (one strength) units in the same area as the noble, does combat start up immeadiately? who is the attacker ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew H
Australia
Brisbane
Queensland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Combat does start immediately and the turncoat is the attacker.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alpha Mastrano
Australia
Heidelberg
Victoria, Australia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I thought a noble only defects if "eliminated in combat" (5.7) and 5.8 Exception says "All blocks eliminated as a consequence of the Pillage Card, Border Raids, or Winter Attrition are disbanded to the Draw Pool"...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Luca Iennaco
Italy
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmb
HotS rulebook (v 2.0, page 4, rightmost column), when explaining the Event Cards, about Pillage says:

Quote:
If there is only 1 enemy step present, then
you gain only 1 step in return.

If your blocks are already at full strength, you
do not gain any steps.

If a noble is eliminated by a PILLAGE card,
it immediately defects to the enemy at a
strength of 1. Players cannot, however,
voluntarily eliminate a noble in this fashion
as long as there are other non-noble steps
to reduce. Nobles that defect to the enemy
because of a PILLAGE card are not eligible
to receive any additional steps because of
the play of the card.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alpha Mastrano
Australia
Heidelberg
Victoria, Australia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I got Version 2.3 here and it says on p. 5 that all blocks eliminated by pillaging, border raids, or winter attrition are put in the draw pool (including those ones with black crosses on them, I believe). Hmmm...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ubergeek
United States
Washougal
Washington
flag msg tools
Be Happy in your Game!
badge
I spent 100 Geek Gold and all I got was this lousy overtext message!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, army blocks go back to the draw pool. I don't think Nobles are ever eliminated with the exception of Moray and Kings, and they don't ever go to the draw pool.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alpha Mastrano
Australia
Heidelberg
Victoria, Australia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
But Moray CAN go to the draw pool can't he? The victory conditions 9.1 say Moray "must be dead or in the Draw Pool" for the English to win sudden death. Can other nobles go to the draw pool?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ubergeek
United States
Washougal
Washington
flag msg tools
Be Happy in your Game!
badge
I spent 100 Geek Gold and all I got was this lousy overtext message!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, if he is eliminated by a Pillage card. Otherwise he is removed from the game. The same would apply to Wallace (and Edward according to v2.3 rules). Those are the only three Nobles that could end up back in the pool, going there via a Pillage card.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alpha Mastrano
Australia
Heidelberg
Victoria, Australia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Walt Mulder wrote:
Those are the only three Nobles that could end up back in the pool, going there via a Pillage card.


Ah, cool. It hasn't come up yet in my games, but I was wondering if the rank of nobles could be thinned by using the Pillage card and then failing to draw them back from the pool, which sounded kinda, well, wrong to me. Version 2.3 doesn't explicitly state what happens to Nobles who lose their last step to the Pillage event.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.