Popular Tags: [View All]
Craig Truesdell
United States
Uniontown
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I just started playing the newer game by Ares and I have to give this old game some credit. I especially like the scenario that has no armies just Nazguls and the Fellowship. While the army aspect has its moments, I am just has happy ignoring it. The good guys are so weak, there isn't much that really changes. So Sauron has to decide between attacking strongholds and searching for the ring which is fun.

I also like the guardian aspect, that adds some interesting elements too.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Cavaliere
United States
Littleton
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I've said this before Craig - for it's time this game was done well and does have some interesting mechanics and gameplay.

I feel very lucky to own it and hope to find the Gondor & Rohan additions (that I think were in the White Box) someday.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lee Trowbridge
United States
Tennessee
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
ctcharger wrote:
I just started playing the newer game by Ares and I have to give this old game some credit. I especially like the scenario that has no armies just Nazguls and the Fellowship. While the army aspect has its moments, I am just has happy ignoring it. The good guys are so weak, there isn't much that really changes. So Sauron has to decide between attacking strongholds and searching for the ring which is fun.

I also like the guardian aspect, that adds some interesting elements too.

Agree. And for me, it was one of a very few wargames I managed to get non-wargamers to try out.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Rob
United States
Tampa
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
It was a near miss but certainly a glorious attempt. For its time, heck even for today, it incorporated some amazingly thematic concepts and the art was A+.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Gray
United States
flag msg tools