Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Race for the Galaxy» Forums » Rules

Subject: Card bonus timing. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
300 Spartan
msg tools
Hi,
After a card has been played, can you use that cards bonus in the next phase or only in the next round?

For example, in phase "II Develop" I played "Space Marines" which gives me +2 military power.
Now phase "III Settle" is being played, can I play "Former Penal Colony" which costs 2 military points, using the "Space Marines" +2 military power?

Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
From the rules, page 4, Card Powers: "A power does not take effect in the *phase* in which its card is placed; it can begin to take effect as soon as the *next* phase." (original emphasis)

For your specific example: yes.
12 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
300 Spartan
msg tools
Thanks for your help and reference to the rule book!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nathaniel Hobbes
China
Guangzhou
Guangdong
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
To expand on Tom's excellent answer, if you are playing the 2-player advanced rules, and a player calls two develop or settle phases in one round, it counts as two separate phases. Thus, any appropriate powers from the first phase will apply to the second.

Example: II Develop (First) I play "Interstellar Bank." On II Develop (Second), I immediately draw a card at the beginning of the phase due to the Interstellar Bank's power.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.